Etiquette In The Community : A Very Gentle Reminder

It has come to my attention that there are quite a few people (read: a lot) that have very little online etiquette in terms of dealing with others in the community. It's a real shame because I think these people could be valuable assets to the blockchain community yet by engaging in this type of behaviour, it just isn't cutting it and they will never 'make it' in our communal online space. So here's my two cents on what I deem inappropriate behaviour, starting off with my least favourite online pet peeve that infuriates me no end.

Sneakily Mentioning Your Own Post In A Comment Every Time

You don't follow me yet you deem it necessary to reply to one of my blogs once in a while with a seemingly interesting answer yet you always add your own little twist story about a post you wrote that day (or the day before) to entice me to read it. NO. Bad behaviour. That is not the way to engage. And there are some pretty big players on here that do it and that disgusts me even more. You should know better. Those little marketing tricks you learned on a 'brand yourself better' course you took 3 years ago, do not always apply here. STOP IT. NOW.

Not Sourcing Properly

Such a shame when I see a really good post but the link to the source of the image or quote is missing. Get it into your system! If you are using someone else's intellectual property, link to it. No excuses. How would you feel if someone did that to you and earned a ton of money on the back of your work? Not cool right?

Replying With A Generic Answer

I am not even going to give you the time of the day if you reply with a super short uninteresting answer. You believe that this is the way your account is going to grow and make you a Hive superstart? NOPE. Say something that makes me think or that I can appreciate. Actually put a bit of effort into the answer. It doesn't take that much brainspace.

Desperately Asking For Help

Stop repeatedly asking people to help you grow your account. I've seen a ton of people keep asking the same questions over and over again and even individually messaging people to help them. Nooope. There is so much information on how this place works and what you can do to be a part of the community. Just dig deeper and look. Of course sometimes you are really stuck on something and need help but that's a different story. Use your brain and do your own research!

image.png
Source:Unsplash

Stop Being So Self-Obsessed

This is a community. We help each other and create things that make this place better. Only doing things, writing posts that are only 'good for you' is not going to get you anywhere. Look at the big players on here. They are all making things, creating projects that make this space even better and bring the community together. They are really helping out. You want to grow your account? Make a positive impact for a whole load of people. That's it


Okay, maybe this isn't a gentle reminder. It has become a bit of a rant. Haha. Maybe I shouldn't have written this when I am hangry (Haha) but these points were annoying me so much and I just had to write something about it.

For the rest of you, you are all such good eggs and I am so happy to be here.

Have a good day!

Over and out,

Ashley

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency