Earn.Hive Witness- A Greasy Experiment

I'm sure many of you have received this little transaction in your wallet- perhaps without even realizing it.... It is pretty unassuming after all:
image.png

It's apparently been going on for a while now- transactions being sent to various wallets across Hive with the above memo promising rewards in exchange for a witness vote. Immediately upon seeing this my first thought was it can't be legit right? Paying people for their witness vote? Seems.... shady?.... sketchy?... scammy?... Something anyway.

I did a little research- I have only cast a couple of witness votes up until this point- mainly for people I've interacted with or the witnesses run by projects I am engaged with. I have witness votes to spare. I made sure votes can be removed easily and I wouldn't just be tossing this vote in the trashcan before I decided to engage in a little experiment. I figured- what the heck- even if it feels shady AF I can drop my vote on this for a bit, see if it actually does follow through with the promise to pay for your vote, and due to my strong feelings about PAYING FOR VOTES I can easily remove my vote after a little while and write up a post about it. This is that post.

image.png

As you can see the earn.hive witness is currently 120/104 and has made a block within the last 2 hours- it also has a fairly recent price feed- much better performance than some of those witnesses higher up the charts. I can't really be mad at it for that!

I placed my witness vote on them 22 days ago and left it until today in order to see if they would indeed payout any Hive. I was surprised to find that in fact they do:

image.png

It's not much. Hardly worth the bad taste left in my mouth by voting in order to get paid. BUT... At least it's proof that this isn't just a scam attempt to get people to drop their vote with the promise of paying Hive. I went in and verified that they are actually paying other individuals as well (I attempted to contact them through bee chat to learn more- unsuccessfully- and wanted to be sure they weren't just paying me after reading my messages lol)

image.png

I'm left with a conundrum. I really do not feel good about being paid for a witness vote. It feels greasy and wrong. But it seems that one thing Hive needs is more engagement in governance and witness votes in order to remove some of the jank witnesses from the top witness lists. So... can I really object to someone taking a next step in order to encourage people to engage in those activities and help them overtake some of those garbage witnesses? I don't know if I can... I've removed my vote though... I didn't like the greasy feeling... gonna shower after this post.

image.png

If there is one thing I have taken from this experiment it's that we all need to get more involved in the witness voting process- it matters! I hadn't realized just how many of the top witnesses haven't updated the price feed in years, or haven't made a block in a month. It's a little crazy! I have since gone through and placed ALL of my witness votes on active and relevant witnesses. I'll be looking to do the same for Hive Engine witnesses shortly as well!

Let's get on it. You can change your vote anytime so why not go drop yours on active witnesses NOW- vote on the ones relevant to your favorite tribe or token or whatever- shake out some of the dead witnesses and Hive as a whole will be better for it!!!!

https://peakd.com/me/witnesses

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency