I had my first cat after being a grandmother. Ziggy's story. / Tuve mi primer gato luego de ser abuela. La historia de Ziggy. Stories Of Our Little Angels CONTEST

I had never had a cat, I was raised in the field and there my father always had dogs, cats and goats that were cattle, but I never had a pet that I could consider mine, I was always raised with a very practical thought, for me the dogs served to protect the houses or warn if a thief entered and the cats obviously to prevent the mice from arriving to eat the cheese.

Yo nunca había tenido un gato, me crie en el campo y allá mi papa siempre tuvo perros, gatos y las cabras que eran el ganado, pero nunca tuve una mascota que pudiera considerar mia, siempre fui criada con un pensamiento muy práctico, para mí los perritos servían para proteger la casas o avisar si entraba un ladrón y los gatos obviamente para evitar que llegaran los ratones a comerse el queso.

When I grew up and had my partner and my house, I adopted a puppy and it lasted many years, but my daughters, especially the youngest, always liked animals, she had several dogs and cats over many years, but I always tried to teach them the responsibility that this entails, when the pets were small I was the one who cleaned the feces and the urine from the house while they got used to not doing it indoors, all these things made me think that it was not good to have so many animals, like my daughter had pets and I also considered them mine in a way.

Cuando crecí y tuve mi pareja y mi casa, adopté un perrito y este me duró muchos años, pero a mis hijas sobre todo la menor siempre le gustaron los animales, tuvo varios perros y gatos a lo largo de muchos años, pero yo siempre trataba de enseñarle la responsabilidad que esto conlleva, cuando eran pequeñas las mascotas yo era la que limpiada las heces y el orine de la casa mientras ellos se acostumbraban a no hacer adentro, todas estas cosas me hacían pensar que no era bueno tener tanto animales, como mi hija tenía mascotas yo los consideraba también míos en cierta forma.

But the death of some dogs and cats of my daughter made us think that we did not want to have more pets, the house lasted for some time without any dogs or cats, soon some mice began to pass from the neighbor's house who had a lot of garbage in his yard , that is, they came from the neighbor's house and found my house unprotected without any cat. A friend asked my daughter if she did not want to adopt a small cat and she said no but she made the comment, so I told her that I wanted a cat, she told me that she would tell her friend to bring the cat for me , that this would be my cat, that is, she did not want to have such close emotional contact for fear that something would happen to the animal leaving her heart broken.

Pero la muerte de algunos perros y gatos de mi hija nos hicieron pensar que no queríamos tener más mascotas, la casa duró algún tiempo sin ningún perro o gato, pronto comenzaron a pasarse algunos ratones de la casa del vecino que tenía mucho basura en su patio, es decir, venían de la casa del vecino y encontraban mi casa desprotegida sin ningún gato. A mi hija un amigo le preguntó si no quería adoptar un pequeño gato y ella dijo que no pero me hizo el comentario, entonces le dije que yo lo quería, ella me dijo que le diría a su amigo que trajera el gato para mi, que este sería mi gato, es decir, ella no quería tener un contacto emocional tan cercano por temor a que le pasara algo al animalito dejándole el corazón roto.

IMG_20160829_145911.jpg

First day at home in 2016

Primer día en casa en 2016

My daughter's friend brought the cat in a truck, as soon as I saw him it was love at first sight, he had beautiful eyes, my daughter told me that since he was my cat I should give him a name, but no matter how much I thought about it, I didn't know None happened, so I asked her for help, she told me several options and I chose Ziggy, it is a name of a famous musician that my daughter likes but I thought it was nice for the cat. That was in August 2016, that is to say that at the age of 51 I had my cat for the first time. Soon after, my grandson, the son of my eldest daughter, picked up a puppy from the street but his father did not allow him to have it at home, so he came and gave it to me, we called him Lázaro, that is, that same year I went from not having a pet to having two, after a long time with me and for other issues regarding the safety of my daughter's home, I had to give the dog Lázaro to take care of his house, I still need him but I know that he is fine with them.

El amigo de mi hija trajo al gato en una camioneta, apenas lo vi fue amor a primera vista, tenía unos ojos preciosos, mi hija me dijo que como era mi gato yo debía ponerle un nombre, pero por mucho que lo pensé no se me ocurrió ninguno, así que le pedí ayuda, me dijo varias opciones y escogí Ziggy, es un nombre de un músico famoso que le gusta a mi hija pero me pareció bonito para el gato. Eso fue en agoto de 2016, es decir que a mis 51 años tuve por primera vez un gato mío. Al poco tiempo mi nieto, hijo de mi hija mayor recogió un perrito de la calle pero su papá no le permitió tenerlo en casa, por eso vino y me lo dio, lo llamamos Lázaro, es decir ese mismo año pasé de no tener mascota a tener dos, luego de mucho tiempo conmigo y por otros asuntos con respecto a la seguridad del hogar de mi hija, tuve que darle al perro Lázaro para que cuidara su casa, aun me hace falta pero sé que está bien con ellos.

IMG_20181209_082353.jpg

With Ziggy and Lázaro in 2018

Con Ziggy y Lázaro en 2018

On the other hand, my cat Ziggy continued to be the spoiled one, these were tough times for the Venezuelan economy but even so, my ex-partner and I made an effort to keep the cat well, we bought him chicken mortadella and dehydrated cat food, soon after. The cat was very chubby and pretty, so much so that a friend of my daughter visited us and said that she was offended by the fat of the cat, because at that time most Venezuelans had lost weight.

Por otro lado mi gato Ziggy continuó siendo el consentido, eran tiempos duros para la economía de los venezolanos pero aun así mi ex pareja y yo nos esforzábamos por mantener bien al gato, le comprábamos mortadela de pollo y comida deshidratada para gatos, al poco tiempo el gato estaba muy gordito y bonito tanto así que una amiga de mi hija nos visitó y dijo que se sentía ofendida por la gordura del gato, porque en ese entonces la mayoría de los venezolanos había bajado de peso.

IMG_20170807_094245.jpg

IMG_20170729_093601.jpg

My grandson and fat Ziggy in 2017

Mi nieto y Ziggy gordo en 2017

My little grandson loved the cat Ziggy, the cat let himself be grabbed by him in a very indifferent way, practically the child took it as a stuffed animal and the cat left himself, my grandson was already walking and grabbed the cat, put it in his stroller and walked him Throughout the house, that is, the stroller at the same time was like a walker for my grandson and in this I carried the cat. My daughter bought a double bed for my grandson, took off the top support boards and placed the mattress on the bottom, so the double bed worked as a bed with guardrails so that my grandson would sleep there without fear of falling. It is very funny that my grandson made his bed in the company of the cat Ziggy, who slept with him.

Mi nieto pequeño amaba al gato Ziggy, el gato se dejaba agarrar por él de manera muy indiferente, prácticamente el niño lo tomaba de peluche y el gato se dejaba, mi nieto estaba ya caminando y agarraba al gato lo ponía en su coche y lo paseaba por toda la casa, es decir, el coche a la vez era como una andadera de mi nieto y en esta cargaba al gato. Mi hija compró una cama doble para mi nieto, le quitó las tablas de soporte de arriba y colocó el colchón en la parte de abajo, entonces la cama doble funcionaba como una cama con barandas de protección para que mi nieto durmiera allí sin temor a caerse, es muy gracioso que mi nieto estrenó su cama en compañía del gato Ziggy, quien dormía con él.

DSC_0062.JPG

Ziggy sleeping with my grandson in the same bed in 2016

Ziggy durmiendo con mi nieto en la misma cama en 2016

But not everything went well, after a while the crisis worsened and I could not continue to maintain the cat's diet, I began to give him my normal food, he lowered a little but still remained within a normal weight, but one day my sisters they brought me pork, I prepared the food and gave it to the cat, the next day I went shopping very early and left my daughter at home, the cat had the habit of asking for food from everyone who sat at the table, My daughter thought it strange that the cat did not appear to ask, but sometimes he slept a lot and imagined that he was asleep at breakfast time.

Pero no todo marcho bien, pasado un tiempo la crisis empeoró y yo no podía seguir manteniendo la dieta del gato, empecé a darle de mi comida normal, el rebajó un poco pero aun así continuaba dentro de un peso normal, pero un día mis hermanas me trajeron carne de cerdo, yo preparé la comida y le di a gato, al día siguiente fui de compras muy temprano y dejé a mi hija en casa, el gato tenía la costumbre de pedir comida a todos los que se sentaran en la mesa, a mi hija le pareció extraño que el gato no apareciera a pedir, pero a veces el dormía mucho y se imaginó que estaba dormido a la hora del desayuno.

When it was done later and I returned my daughter with concern told me that she has not seen the cat, it is worth saying that this cat was completely from home, that is, it was lazy and did not leave there, it was not like those cats that They visit neighboring houses and chase after cats in heat, this cat was one of those who were inside the house all the time, that's why I got worried, I started looking for it and we found it in one of its favorite hiding places to sleep, which was under a table that had some boxes. But we noticed that he was still asleep, we called him and he came out disoriented like dizzy, we didn't understand what was wrong with him, my daughter tried to give him water and he didn't want to, then she looked for an injector and I tried to give him water and he didn't want to, she tried to give him milk and neither, We didn't know what to do, after my daughter tried to cheer him up, I left him lying down and then he died.

Cuando se hizo más tarde y yo regresé mi hija con preocupación me dijo que no ha visto al gato, vale la pena decir que este gato era completamente de casa, es decir, era perezoso y no salía de allí, no era como esos gatos que visitan las casa vecinas y andan detrás de gatas en celo, este gato era de los que estaban todo el tiempo dentro de casa, por eso me preocupé, comencé a buscarlo y lo encontramos en uno de sus escondites favoritos para dormir, que era debajo de una mesa que tenía unas cajas. Pero notamos que seguía dormido, lo llamamos y salió todo desorientado como mareado, no entendimos que le pasaba, mi hija intentó darle agua y no quería, luego buscó una inyectadora y trato de darle agua y no quiso, intentó darle leche y tampoco, no sabíamos que hacer, luego de que mi hija intentara animarlo lo dejo acostado y luego murió.

My daughter took it very badly and so did I, people told me that surely a neighbor had poisoned him, but I insisted that my cat never left the house, then my daughter was told that some cats do not tolerate certain meats, so I remembered that for the first time in his life I had given him pork the day before, I felt terrible, I still feel a lot of guilt, I loved my cat and if what I fed him was what killed him, I will have that guilt forever in my mind and heart.

Mi hija lo tomó muy mal y yo también, las personas me decían que seguro lo había envenenado algún vecino, pero yo les insistía en que mi gato nunca salía de casa, luego a mi hija le dijeron que algunos gatos no toleran ciertas carnes, entonces yo recordé que por primera vez en su vida yo le había dado carne de cerdo el día anterior, me sentí terrible, aun siento mucha culpa, yo amaba a mi gato y si lo que le di de comer fue lo que lo mató tendré esa culpa para siempre en mi mente y corazón.

IMG_20181209_082013-1.jpg

My grandson and Ziggy in 2019

Mi nieto y Ziggy en 2019


If you want to know the rules of the contest, you can read the following link:

Si quieres conocer las bases del concurso, puedes leer el siguiente enlace:

Stories Of Our Little Angels CONTEST

¡Muchas gracias por leer! / Thanks so much for reading!


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency