The births of my goats part 1 // Los partos de mis cabras parte 1

Greetings,

Dear friends, it has been a few days since I last wrote here, this is because I was waiting for this season to share with you the calving season of 2021 of my very peculiar pets which are the goats.

I am fortunate to live in a house with ample land and I like animals and agriculture very much, although I do very little of the latter, but I have my goats in a space in the garden, and I take them to graze in some meadows very close to my house.

image.png

These animals are very noble and intelligent, I tell you something in an opportunity my first goat had its young almost simultaneously with my wife when we had our second child, the goat is such a good mother that she approached my wife to her belly as a sign of understanding, and once the baby was already at home, if the baby cried the goat made gestures as if to pay attention to her.

Another curious fact and that I learned to evaluate their intelligence, is that every morning I take them to the pasture to feed and have their recreation, when they are satisfied if I am not with them they return home alone and stand on two legs at the door or lie outside the house until I let them in.

I have always had my goats but I had not organized the birthing seasons as they do in commercial sheepfolds, this year having 3 adult goats and one almost adult goat, I decided to organize the births to do it seasonally and thus get an economic help in the support of my home, since goat milk is very healthy and sought after to feed the babies for its similarity to breast milk and low lactose content.

image.png

The birthing season started with my goat Everest who is my first crossbred goat, born and raised at home, she is a goat that in her genetics comes with very good genes of high production dairy goats, this is her second birth, in the first birth she gave me 2 females which I am raising with a friend on his farm so as not to saturate my space..

image.png

image.png

For this birth Everest gave me another female which we call Moon because she was born at night and under the light of a beautiful new moon, the goat by service date was at term after August 20, for that reason I stopped taking her to the pasture on August 19 onwards and I dedicated myself to cut her pasture ration to keep her at home and thus avoid any complications or that she would give birth outside the house and not stress her in the transfer.

image.png

Since Saturday night I began to see certain symptoms of discomfort, which made me keep her under observation and get up several times at night and be aware that everything was in order, well, that night went by without any delivery and without complications.

image.png

Sunday arrived and during the course of the day I continued to see the symptoms of the proximity of calving, such as a great appetite, the udders increased in size considerably and they began to stretch their hind legs as if to help with the pelvic opening.

image.png

Towards the end of the afternoon I noticed how the contractions started and she began to clean the area of the pen where she was expecting to give birth, I also noticed how a thread of placenta started to come out, which told me that labor was in progress.

A few more hours passed and the long awaited moment arrived, I was sitting at the pc writing on my #Hive blog when I heard a very loud whimper, I ran out when I arrived and the calf was on its way two legs and head out and I helped her to finish expelling it and see how she started to breathe and clean it.

image.png

It is a pity that the birth was at night and I could not manage to sign it to present a good video of the magic of birth, see the love of a mother and the incredible of nature as it licks all the amniotic fluid and they are clean as if you dry them with a cloth, in less than ten minutes and the baby goat was clean getting up to walk and looking to locate their food.

After a good time observing and evaluating everything, I leave everything in the hands of the goat that was already in order and I retire to sleep, in the morning when I wake up the first thing I do is to go to observe the goat with her calf and I see them relaxed lying down and Luna sleeping, it is that with such udders that the mother has to be satisfied does not require much effort.

image.png

To guarantee the goat's health and to avoid mastitis, I milked Everest a little and thus lowered the pressure in the udders because it was impossible for Luna alone to consume so much colostrum, since yesterday Luna has been very active running, jumping and chasing her mother all over the garden.

I am still milking Everest for prevention and she is still producing a lot of milk for one calf, which is very good because I can milk her with confidence without affecting Luna's feeding.

So far my delivery for today and be aware that in a maximum of 15 days there are two more births coming God willing I will show you the video of the labor so that it can be used in an educational way in your homes.


SPANISH


Saludos,

Queridos amigos días que no paso a escribir por acá, esto es debido a que estaba esperando esta temporada para compartirles la temporada de partos del 2021 de mis mascotas muy peculiares que son las cabras.

Tengo la dicha de vivir en una casa con amplio terreno y me gustan mucho los animales y la agricultura, aunque de lo segundo hago muy poco, pero de los animales tengo mis cabras en un espacio del jardín, y las llevo a pastorear a unos prados muy cercanos de mi casa.

image.png

Estos animales son muy nobles e inteligentes, les cuento algo en una oportunidad mi primera cabra tuvo sus crías casi que simultáneamente con mi esposa cuando tuvimos a nuestro segundo hijo, la cabra es tan buena madre que se le acercaba a mi esposa a la barriga como en señal de comprensión, y una vez ya el bebe en casa, si el bebe lloraba la cabra hacía gestos como de que le prestaran atención.

Otro dato curioso y que aprendí a evaluar su inteligencia, es que todas las mañanas las llevo al prado a que se alimenten y tengan su esparcimiento, cuando ya están satisfechas si yo no estoy con ellas regresan solas a casa y se paran en dos patas en la puerta o se echan afuera de la casa hasta que yo las dejo entrar.

Siempre he tenido mis cabras pero no había organizado las temporadas de parto como lo hacen en los apriscos comerciales, este año al tener 3 cabras adultas y una cabra ya casi adulta, decidí organizar los partos para hacerlo por temporadas y así conseguir una ayuda económica en el sustento de mi hogar, ya que la leche de cabra es muy sana y buscada para alimentar a los bebes por su similitud con la leche materna y bajo contenido de lactosa.

image.png

La temporada de partos se inicio con mi cabra Everest quien es mi primera cabra mestizada, nacida y criada en casa, es una cabra que en su genética viene con muy buenos genes de cabras lecheras de alta producción, este es su segundo parto, en el primer parto me regalo 2 hembras las cuales estoy criando con un amigo en su finca por no saturar mi espacio.

image.png

image.png

Para este parto Everest me regalo otra hembra la que llamamos Luna porque nació de noche y bajo la luz de una luna nueva bien bella, la cabra por fecha de servicio estaba a termino después del día 20 de agosto, por ese motivo deje de llevarla al prado el 19 de agosto en adelante y me dedique a cortar su ración de pasto para tenerla en casa y así poder evitar alguna complicación o que diera a luz fuera de casa y no estresarla en el traslado.

image.png

Desde la noche del sábado empecé a ver ciertos síntomas de malestar, lo que me hizo tenerla en observación y levantarme varias veces por la noche y estar pendiente de que todo se mantenga en orden, bueno así transcurrió esa noche sin parto alguno y sin complicación.

image.png

Llego el día domingo y en el transcurso del día seguía viendo los síntomas de cercanías del parto como son mucho apetito, las ubres se incrementan de tamaño considerablemente y empiezan como a estirar las patas traseras como para ayudar con la apertura pélvica.

image.png

Ya para finales de la tarde note como empezaban las contracciones y empezó como a limpiar el área del corral donde esperaba parir, también note como empezó a salir un hilo de la placenta lo que me avisaba que el parto estaba en progreso.

Pasaron unas horas más y el momento tan esperado llego, estaba sentado en la pc escribiendo en mi blog de #Hive cuando escuche un quejido muy fuerte, salí corriendo cuando llegue ya la cría venia en camino dos patas y cabeza afuera y le ayude a que terminara de expulsarla y así ver como empezaba a respirar y a limpiarla.

image.png

Les cuento que es una lástima que el parto fue de noche y no pude lograr firmarlo para presentar un buen vídeo de la magia del nacimiento, ver el amor de una madre y lo increíble de la naturaleza como le lame todo el liquido amniótico y quedan limpias como si uno los secara con un paño, en menos de diez minutos ya la cabrita estaba limpia levantándose a caminar y buscando ubicar su comida.

Después de un buen rato observando y evaluando todo, dejo todo en manos de la cabra que ya estaba en orden y me retiro a dormir, en la mañana al despertar lo primero que hago es ir a observar la cabra con su cría y las veo de lo más relajadas echada y Luna durmiendo, es que con semejantes ubres que tiene la mamá el estar satisfecha no requiere de mucho esfuerzo.

image.png

Para garantizar la salud de la cabra y evitar una mastitis ordeño un poco a Everest y así bajar la presión en las ubres porque tanta cantidad de calostro era imposible que Luna sola lo consumiera, ya desde ayer Luna está muy activa corriendo saltando y persiguiendo a su mama por todo el jardín.

Ya sigo con el ordeño de Everest por prevención y todavía es mucha la leche que produce para una sola cría lo que es muy bueno porque puedo ordeñarla con confianza sin necesidad de afectar la alimentación de Luna.

Hasta aquí mi entrega por el día de hoy y estén atentos que en un máximo de 15 días se vienen dos nacimientos mas Dios permita mostrarles el vídeo de la labor de parto para que pueda ser usado de manera educativa en sus hogares.

Thank you for reading my lines and may God bless you greatly.

Gracias por leer mis líneas y que Dios les bendiga grandemente.

The photos are my own taken with my ZTE Blade Spark cell phone and two of them are available in my social networks.

Las fotos son de mi propiedad tomadas con mi celular ZTE Blade Spark y dos de ellas están disponibles en mis redes sociales.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency