Goodbye Max - Thank You For The Memories

A few months ago we were blessed with a new addition to our family. A rabbit so cute and furry whom the kids named Max. I did a post on him to introduce him to the Hive Pets community and at the same time as my entry to the @ocd sponsored community boost contest. The link to that post is here. The following months with Max had been all fun and joy as we experienced life with him and all our other pets.

IMG_20210916_144651.jpg

IMG_20210916_144741.jpg

IMG_20210916_144948.jpg

received_1401595266848687.jpeg

received_472946147273733.jpeg

As you can see from the photos above, Max did get along quite well with our pet cats. It is so sweet seeing him hanging around with them or them with him.

However, last week, a most unfortunate incident happened that resulted to our losing Max. One of our pet dogs, Patch, somehow broke loose from his chain. It must have been in the wee hours of the morning and everyone in deep sleep. We did not hear Patch running around the garden and chasing all the cats and, yes, unfortunately, Max. And although Max was inside his cage, he must have been so scared that he was able to scale the screen barrier of his cage and ran to the back towards the laundry area where he hid behind the washing machine. Patch, of course, followed and kept barking at him until finally I woke up and went outside to check. I saw Patch's loose chain so I called him and locked him up in his cage. It was still dark so I thought I'll fix her chain later.

I didn't realize that Max had also broken loose and was at the laundry area. It was only later, while I was feeding the cats that I realized he was not in his cage. I asked my daughter to check on him and she said he was at the back but did not want to move. The whole day Max just laid down quietly, refusing to move and eat. And the next day he was gone. He must have suffered a heart attack from Patch's chasing her around. And although Patch will not harm anyone and probably just wanted to play with him, Max's instinct just screamed danger and that aggravated his condition.
received_331851871678908.jpeg
The photo above shows Patch eyeing Max suspiciously. This was taken a few months ago when we just acquired Max.

But even in death, Max still retained his cuteness. Just looking at him, it was hard to tell that he was dead. He looked just like he was sleeping. All the while I was thinking he was sure to move when I picked him up. But he really was gone from us.

Here he is beside the grave we dug for him.

IMG20210911115249.jpg

IMG20210911115234.jpg

My grandson helped me cover him up, smoothing out the ground before I covered the grave with the cement slab.

IMG_20210916_155204.jpg

IMG20210911115800.jpg

The final resting place of Max. A plot in our garden where we usually bury our dead pets. You can say this is our Pet Semetary. I fashioned out a cross made from the dried stalks of our Bird of Paradise plant and laid a Bird of Paradise flower on top of Max's grave.

IMG_20210916_135118.jpg

Goodbye Max. You are in a better place now. Thank you for all the fun and joy you have given us during your short stay with us. We will miss you.

received_3936863103101029.jpeg

(All photos are mine.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency