Market Friday: When a Grocery Store is More than a Store

One day my sister and I stopped into a Hy-Vee grocery store. I'm not sure I was aware that such a brand existed in our area. And I'll have to admit that I had an anticipation of a kind of "down home" type of store with all of the basic white bread and Jiffy peanut butter sort of selections front and center.

My gosh, when did I develop this predisposed idea about a place, just from the name? Wow, was I wrong. I'll take you through a brief tour. Be sure to stay tuned for the surprise at the end.

Beauty in All Directions

I was dazzled the moment I walked in, by how clean and fresh the store looked, and what wonderful displays they had. Eveything was beautifully arranged, with nice lighting and signage to make the store inviting.

The display of cakes and pastries was really tantalizing. As you can see they do all kinds of special occasion cakes, including party cakes and wedding cakes.

MarketFriday2.jpg

Just looking for a single serve muffin or donut? They have those too.

MarketFriday4.jpg

Look at that glass case. Not a kid finger smudge anywhere.

The deli area and bakery were absolutely scrumptious!

MarketFriday3.jpg

MarketFriday6.jpg

MarketFriday5.jpg

I stopped taking pictures at that point because I started to feel self-conscious about photographing their store like some weird tourist (or stalker...), especially since I wasn't buying anything except for a cup of coffee.

But then we stepped next door to get a burger at "Wahlburger," and look who we saw! Mark Wahlberg!!

MarketFriday7.jpg

I'm kidding, of course! This was a big picture mural on a wall in the restaurant. But I couldn't help taking a picture of it and trying to frame it as if I actually got to meet him. The brightness on the right side is pretty much a dead give-away that it's not real. It looks a bit like over exposure, but it's actually the light from a window hitting the shiny surface of the picture.

Well, I hope you got a kick out of that. Happy Friday! Be sure to check out the Market Friday community and #marketfriday tag, hosted by @dswigle. And check out #thoughtfuldailypost hosted by @wesphilbin as well.

Thanks for visiting!


decorative-green-arrow-5293043.png

Join Hive at Hive.io


Hive is a social blockchain where you can join communities, blog about your favorite topics, curate content and earn cryptocurrency.

Get started
Sign up an account by clicking this referral link: HiveOnboard.

Or start at Actifit.io! Simply click this referral link to get started. Earn tokens by getting active every day and sharing your results.

The Ink well Logosm.png

honey44501_640small.png

#backtothehive is an initiative I've started to encourage long-time members to return with fresh energy!

Divider image from Pixabay

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency