Interesting Mushrooms In My Back Yard

Hello Everyone,

Lately I've been getting interested in mycology.

Today was my first official mycology experience, from an observational point of view.

It's very basic but we have to start somewhere.

I don't know much about mushrooms yet, so this will not be an article tailored for educational purposes but rather, just a look at some cool mushrooms I found today. (And potentially some psychoactive mushrooms.)


image.png


This mushroom is supple and cute to me. It has this zebra like look, and seems very delicate.


20211019_104933.jpg


Initially I thought this one is psychoactive, and picked it, but based on what I have already learned, I am thinking this is not a pyschoactive mushroom.


image.png


I really like this one, because of how it's growing on a burnt log, and the log has a rock or petrified look to it. For this visual contrast with the mushrooms, I thought it was super cool and wanted to take an angular shot. Quite sure this is not a psychoactive mushroom and did not pick it.


image.png


This tiny mushroom is very fascinating to me, and I wonder if it's psychoactive. I did not pick it but am still curious, and took the stick it is growing on and put it in a place I can easily remember and retrieve. (If it doesn't disappear.)


image.png


This one looks one looks similar but has a slightly different shape. The size is the same. I don't know if they are the same species or not, but I placed it next to the other one :)


image.png


Unfortunately some destructive human decided to cut this tree down for no apparent reason, but now mushrooms grow like crazy on this stump. Every other day it's like a new batch of mushrooms different from the last. I'm always looking at it.


image.png


I find this mushroom to be beautiful and reminiscent of stalactites . I love how it grew around the plants in its vicinity instead of pushing them out of the way. A symbiotic nature to its surroundings.


image.png


Another photo of the same mushroom when the sun was blocked momentarily by a cloud.


image.png


A liberty cap? Hmmm kind of looks like one :D


image.png


Before I talk about these mushrooms that I picked, it's important to state that I do not know if they are psychoactive or even edible, and there is a grave danger with consuming a mushroom that you are not 100% certain is safe.

I will be researching thoroughly before moving forward. There will be no doubt, or there will be no consumption. It's that simple. The risk factor is extreme, so anyone who is unaware of this risk factor and not willing to put in exhaustive research should probably not be dabbling with mushrooms.


image.png


There are some promising consistencies with photos I've seen on the internet compared to these.

We can see the thin veins going down the cap, and slight nipple like tips, which is a common trait of liberty caps.

The nipple tips aren't highly pronounced, but these are a bit small too, so maybe they are underdeveloped, or maybe they are not liberty caps.


image.png


I don't know off hand if the gills should be dark or light. I think I've seen both with liberty caps, maybe there are some slight variations within the species.

I need to learn all of this information, it will be some extensive time consuming research, but very necessary and worth the time spent.

I plan to get out tomorrow morning by a lake on the day of the full moon to go shroom picking. I don't know if the full moon will help or not, but I just have this feeling I'm going to find a whole bunch of them.

Please feel free to share what you know with me if you are a mycologist or have some good website resources. Anyone could just say they are a mycologist so I'll be double and triple checking any information I get on Hive, but I do harbor a great deal of respect for the brilliant minds we have here, and I would not be surprised to learn some stuff about mushrooms if the right eyes see this post.

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you're all having a wonderful day! -@futuremind

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency