Autumn in Old Courtyards (12 Images). Saint Petersburg, Russia

I was in courtyards of half-century-old Soviet apartment blocks. The buildings were not something special but spaces between them were overgrown with old shady trees as high as those five-storey houses themselves, many corners drowned in weeds, it smelled damp earth there and rotting wood and leaves, old stumps were covered with mushrooms. I felt emotionally immersed in that place and decided to take images that would depict its atmosphere.

DSC_9531.JPG

DSC_9724.JPG

DSC_9760.JPG

DSC_9517-4.JPG

Poplars, birches, maples, oaks, lindens, ashes, rowans, hawthorns, you can find apple trees in these courtyards either. But I never knew they have wild pear trees there.

DSC_9617-3.JPG

DSC_9533.JPG

DSC_9744-5.JPG

When I sat down for taking images of the ground scattered with the fruits, I felt the thick heady scent of hundreds of fallen pears. I just wanted to collect them all at that moment.

DSC_9484-2.JPG

DSC_9534-5.JPG

I picked a pear from a branch and tried it. Slightly sweet and sour. It was fragrant and almost tasty but you wouldn’t want to swallow it – too astringent. Bite it, chew and spit. These pears can be a good refreshment after having a shot of vodka and, after that thought, I spotted an empty bottle among fallen fruits.

DSC_9543-2.JPG

I kept searching things in the courtyards and found lonely cherries, withered black currants, overripe gooseberries, and autumn apples, of course.

DSC_9588.JPG

We all have a fear of soil contamination with lead and other types of pollution. Nevertheless, I decided to pick up some fruits and black currants' leaves for cooking tea with them because this was just a little bit and, at least, nobody sprayed insecticides onto these fruits unlike ones from stores (Recently, two Russians died after eating a contaminated watermelon).

DSC_9650.JPG

While I prepared ingredients for tea, my mind was changing. I thought cherries hung too low so every dog and cat touched it and could contaminate them with parasites. So I washed fruits hard and hoped boiling water would kill potential eggs of worms.

I was sipping my fruity herbal tea (with a slight disgust) in front of a laptop when I suddenly got an idea to check “is silicate brick safe?” on google and found someone had posted: “It contains a moderate amount of a radioactive element but this is not a cause for concern”. I stopped reading at that moment and splashed out the tea into the toilet. It was just too much.


Verified by Hive Watchers | My portfolio on Alamy | Facebook | Twitter

These are my photos, taken with Nikon D750 + Nikkor 50mm f/1.8G in courtyards between Nalichnaya / Beringa Streets, Vasilyevsky Island, Saint Petersburg, Russia in September 2021. This is not a cross-post, the images were never published on the Internet.

Thank you for stopping by! 😎

Best regards,
@x-rain

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency