Hello, world. I'm Steve Walasavage!

Well, it's been over a year since a bunch of my best friends in photography and crypto encouraged me to get on Hive, so why not do it on one of the most volatile and newsworthy days of 2022? Much love to @caseygrimley and @tristan.todd for helping me figure this out...

Hello! I'm Steve Walasavage, a landscape and astro photographer from upstate New York. I like to fashion my style as "vibrant yet realistic", though really I just love making a variety of images that delight the eyeballs. I've got a day job in software, but my weekends and vacations have traditionally been filled with travels to the far corners of the Earth, with camera in tow!

In general, I try to make my resulting images match what my memory and emotions were like at the time. It's easy to over-edit a photo, or under-edit it to make it look moody and hyper-realistic... But I like to tread the subtle line that lies in between those.

I got started shooting professionally in the early 2010s and posting via Facebook, though I'm sure many of you have seen my images more recently on Instagram and/or Twitter. My wife and I pride ourselves in being avid hikers, so we've left no view unseen! We even chose our honeymoon (delayed by a year) as a three week camping/hiking trip in Norway. This has translated to a portfolio of thousands of photos I'm truly happy with.

In general, I've always been a fan of the idea that there is no "popular" spot that you can't photograph in a unique way. Each and every photo is a unique view in space and time, and calling anything a compstomp ignores the finer points of environment, emotion, and intention. I hope to show this with some of my posts in the coming months!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency