One construction concept Saturn got very right on their body design!

While helping a single Mom from church on her AC system, someone decided to stop against my Saturn's back driver's door. Then, since they were such "pure" souls; they just took off, and said nothing!

So I had to pay to fix it myself; however, the Saturn designers had my back. The skin on the Saturn's is plastic, and can be easily changed. Here is a picture history of the actual driveway repair. Fixing things yourself, is a critical homesteader's skill! My Father told me that 90% of any job is being willing to tangle with it...and just start the job.

It looked like this:
IMG_20210919_154426350_PORTRAIT.jpg
When I skinned that door panel off.

I got this one from the auto salvage:
IMG_20210919_154411474_PORTRAIT.jpg
Here, I'm reassembling, after straightening the window mechanism. The door handle slides on, and is retained by a captured pin...quick and simple!

With the new panel in place:
IMG_20211012_124624637_HDR.jpg
All the damage is corrected, and the car is happy again!

Proof that no good deed goes unpunished I guess; but the repair was much easier due to good design, and finding a wreaked Saturn, in the same color. I did have to go to 5 salvages to find the right color of panel, but it only cost me $50; and an entire day of my time!

The Saturn designers did a great job, and their quality control was top flight! Easy change over, and a perfect color match, kudos guys...good design choices.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency