My perspective on a city called Dresden #1

Hey guys and girls,

To put all this in a bit of context

I want to tell you that I have been living in the city called Dresden for 33 years of my life and never thought of leaving. But life sometimes works differently than you might expect and so I have been now 6 years away from my home town - mostly sailing around in Europe.

If it comes to Dresden and photography,

most of times you will see the baroque side of it. Since Dresden is a city full of art and music it makes a lot of sense to portrait it that way. My views where usually different from others around me, hence I changed my life dramatically and others did not. But I used to say, do what ever floats your boat :)


I want to use the time and show you my perspective about Dresden in a series of 5 photos per post that I have taken over the years.



Dresden, capital of the eastern German state of Saxony, is distinguished by the celebrated art museums and classic architecture of its reconstructed old town. Completed in 1743 and rebuilt after WWII, the baroque church Frauenkirche is famed for its grand dome. The Versailles-inspired Zwinger palace houses museums including Gemäldegalerie Alte Meister, exhibiting masterpieces of art like Raphael’s “Sistine Madonna.”

check out the typical dresden photos: https://www.google.com/search?q=dresden&sxsrf=ALeKk01iuK3aXotmbraf49_vQhko0zB-3g:1610815161088&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwjMwOaL8qDuAhVShlwKHW3BClYQ_AUoAXoECB8QAw&biw=1920&bih=941

DSC_0395.jpg
Can you imagine to grow wine in a city? Dresden does! Since the city is located in a valley and the climate is moderate, it is ideal to grow grapes and make wine. I just walked on the hill one day and you are allowed to stray through the winery. A fantastic day for me :)

DSC_0054-as-Smart-Object-1.jpg
One my my friends of the Max Plank institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics on the roof of the building. I knew I had to make a photo of this! You overlook the city for a bit and can relax from work. Lovely!

DSC_0114646465-Recovered.jpg

This is me on the outskirts of Dresden in Moritzburg. The original castle, built from 1542–1546, was a hunting lodge for Moritz of Saxony, then Duke of Saxony.Elector John George II of Saxony had the lodge extended; the chapel was added between 1661 and 1671. Designed by his architect, Wolf Caspar von Klengel, the chapel is an example of early Baroque architecture.

DSC_000999999.jpg

Since the city is located in the very east of Germany, we had 40 years of communism as well. And this not only brought the ideas of communism to the peoples life, it also brought the architecture. I am quite fond of some of the building established in the time between 1950 and 1990! This is what we would call a mall today.

Please visit my webpage ricpicks.de for more photos and content. <3

p.s. I do appreciate all critique - please give me your input!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency