Foggy Mountain Photography

I've already shown off my hiking trip to Høgsvora but I wasn't able to fit everything into that post. While that post depicted the hike itself I want to focus on the photography in this one. I honestly think I did some of my lifes best photography on this trip. Really makes me want to move away from my phone and get a proper camera.

We had a foggy trip but that led way to some great photography. I played around for quite a while with the camera settings on my iPhone 11 Pro Max and I quickly discovered that a rocky mountainside surrounded by fog looks really good in black & white. At least I thought so.

These are mainly photos taken on our descent as the fog was really rolling in thick at this point. We were lucky enough to have a fog free view while we were sitting at the top.


The Mountain In The Sky

IMG_5247.jpeg

I really liked this one. Far off mountain ranges surrounded by the clouds in the background and the fog closest to us. Almost makes it look like it's floating.


IMG_5345.jpeg

The mountain top cairn depicted just before our descent. I liked the contrast it had to the foggy background. I think this was taken with the film noir filter on the camera.


IMG_5566.jpeg

All the way up here (1100 masl) there were still several patches of snow.


Into the Fog

IMG_5576.jpeg

I really likes this motive. Looks like my father in law is walking into the unknown.


Strolling Along the Ridge

IMG_5625.jpeg

This has to be my favorite photo. I feel like I utilized the golden ratio well to capture a sweet motive. His stance is also really great.


IMG_5639.jpeg

IMG_5643.jpeg

These two photos kind of go together but I really liked them. The parallell lines going forward looks good together with the diagonal lines of the rocks sort of breaking the pattern. I might go and edit in some more contrast in these ones to make the motive stand out even more from the foggy background.


IMG_5647.jpeg

Just to show off how the motive looks in original colors. Might have had a bit of a lively filter on to make the greens pop out more but the point still stands. This one versus the black & white above the one above wins in my opinion.


I took around 600 photos during this hike so these were just my personal favorites and highlights.


Follow me on: 3Speak | PeakD | Hive.Blog

All photos in this post are taken by me.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency