Take A Walk With Me

image.png

Hello Hive! Oh did I need a break. It has been a busy month here at work, and have not got to do much outside of the home. Just last Sunday I had the opportunity to head to a nearby town to escape, and have some family time. The town is San Juan Bautista, which is about a 20 min drive, and once you arrive, it is like time stopped here a hundred years ago. So sit right back, and take a walk with me....

San Juan Bautista is home to Mission San Juan Batista. So in its hay day it was one of the main stops on the Kings Hwy. Not only for Church Missionary's, but for settlers, the Spanish, and even people seeking their fortune in gold. Many of the buildings from this time still exist. Now a days it is an agriculture community, and a somewhat thriving tourist economy.

Out of all the Missions I have gone to, I would have to rank this one as my second favorite, with Carmel Mission being the first. I have done a post on this Mission in the past, and even caught a ghost on camera! I need to dig that one up someday. These Missions are a very important part of California's history. A very dark one at that. But they also have done some good, and even to this day serve the community in very positive ways. Seeing what is going on in Canada, it is a shame people act on their anger, and destroy, when what they should be doing is building. But I am not going to get political, this is my day off after all.



Life was so simple then. Hard. But it was real.


Located downtown are a few antique shops, restaurants, and bars.



This was cool to see right after I took the picture of Rozas House!


This town is a hot spot for motor cyclers


There was even a big party going on at the Mission. Not sure what it was for, but they had food, and live music. Some people wearing masks, but most where not. Something that for sure was not happening at the same time last year, at least not publically. Ok maybe I will get just a tad political. This is something that should of not stopped! Because you know what, this was still going on behind closed doors. I know because I went to a few parties myself. The people, nor I need permission from our governor to do this. Whether your white, brown, blue, red, you choose how to live your life. San Juan Bautista captures this soul, and I am very blessed to get to visit anytime that I am free. I recommend that if you decide to visit, or any Mission in California, you go on a Sunday to capture the full spirit, and take in its full history.

BA694486-75E3-4317-B1DF-48B57DCEED59.jpeg

And don’t forget to stop for ice cream!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency