THE POWER OF SELF-PORTRAITS

Hello, my friends! It's me Vu. As you can see from the title, today's topic is self-portraits.
So let me ask you a question. Have you had the experience that a friend is taking a photograph of you but you weren't aware he/she was taking it? Maybe it was from side to side or from slightly behind. And when you look at that photograph later, you don't feel familiar with the person in the photograph despite that is you. It may be because of the angle or the expression on your face. And you say to yourself that " Is that what I look like? Is that me those other people actually see?" That is because every day when we stand in front of the mirror, we hold ourselves in particular postures, see ourselves in particular angles, so we assume that is what we really look like in the real world. And talk about selfies, when we selfie, we hold our phone in ridiculous angles to hide our flaws, to see ourselves look better. Selfies show us what we want to see - a complete version without any defects and that is self-deception on some level. That is why self-portraits are perfect to see who we really are. Self-portraits help us see ourselves as others see us, see how vulnerable we are, and at the end of the day, we more and more appreciate and love ourselves.

I love self-portraits but my style is quite different. I have no issues with my body or any flaws I want to hide. But since I was a child, I was always been the quiet one. So now, taking photos is my way to talk. I just need to set up my tripod, connect my phone with the camera, find a big open space then I can do all kinds of weird poses that I want to try. It is really fun to do that and for me, this is my way to express who I am.
*Here are some of my "weird" photos

DSCF8248-1.jpg

DSCF9347 (1).jpg

DSCF8662.jpg

DSCF8666-1 (1).jpg

DSCF8604 (1).jpg
This blog was inspired by SEAN TUCKER's video:
The Healing Power of Self Portraits

                                       PEACE! 
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency