My first DIY Maternity Photoshoot

Out of the blue I offered to do a maternity shoot for my sis-in-law since its her first pregnancy. I wanted to gift her something memorable and have thought that this shoot would just do that. The pandemic have limited us from connecting with other people in person so the best way to pursue this shoot was to do it DIY.

DSCF8007.JPG


Backdrop/Background

In order to make it work, I converted my room to a studio. And to be honest, it was a bit of a challenge. I had to use my creativity and limited resources to have a good background. I initially searched on Pinterest for some ideas. There were a lot of options - from a minimalist design to a black and white style. I ended up with going for a rustic feel knowing I could buy some affordable decorations at the market.

DSCF7719.JPG

DSCF7724.JPG


Equipment used

For the camera, I have only but one - my Fujifilm X-A3 which has been with me for more than 3 years. I have no plans to upgrade unless it gets destroyed or lost.

For the lighting, I heavily relied on natural lighting. Good thing my room had a lot of windows. But still, I prepared other handy light for backup which was put to good use once it was getting dark.


Sets and Outfits

We only had 2 set ups - Solo and Couple; we had the solo shots first followed by the couple shots. For the outfits, we stuck with the common theme of white. White polo shirt, white blazer and pants, white tops and denims for the couple shots


Post Editing

I used Adobe Photoshop CC for the post editing the photos. There were a few photos that I had to crop and correct its alignment. I used the Camera Raw Filter to achieve the end result that I wanted. I made 2 presets for the 2 sets of photos. I made sure just to make some minimal changes to the original shots. And happy to say my sis-in-law said "I'm happy that the photos are not "hyper-edited" and I love the color scheme."

DSCF7928.JPG

BEFORE

DSCF7928.JPG

AFTER


Final Photos

Looking forward to more photoshoot projects after this! Here are a few shots that were my favorite...

DSCF7800.JPG

DSCF7922.JPG

DSCF7992.JPG

DSCF8339.JPG

DSCF8150.JPG

DSCF8236.JPG

DSCF8326.JPG


Dive into Clara's world of bliss as she ventures out into the universe and travel to awesome destinations.
Join her as she take on the road to self-discovery and limitless possibilities.

final hive footer2.jpg

If her content made you 😁, then drop some ❤️ by upvoting and leaving a comment.
Also, click the Follow button to keep posted on her whimsical musings.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency