Shootin' In The Street

marching_in_the_streets_4.jpg

When I got my first DSLR and started to get back into photography, my plan was to do nature photography. I wanted to go where the people weren't, get out where the wild things are.

marching_in_the_streets_2.jpg

When the protests broke out here in late May of last year I had to go. Naturally I had to bring my camera along. Somewhere during all that it occurred to me that I was still doing nature photography, I'd just switched from mother nature to human nature.

marching_in_the_streets_3.jpg

At first the differences between the shots I was getting and what I was seeing in the press of the same occasions messed with me a bit. It took me a bit to realize that as a participant my perspective was gonna be different from the press, who usually kept to the periphery of events.

marching_in_the_streets_1.jpg

Whether that amounts to a hill of beans remains to be seen but I've come to appreciate and enjoy the differences.

marching_in_the_streets_5.jpg

Is there a point to this weekend ramble? Hellifiknow. Anything I can think of to follow that would sound like one of those trite 'inspirational' cliches and we can all do without another one of those.

marching_in_the_streets_6.jpg

Photos from marches in Louisville, KY and Washington DC this year. Okay, so maybe I lied. Get out and shoot! Being there is more important than getting it 'just right' and you can't shoot what you don't see.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency