INSECTS, SEAGULLS AND THE SMALL PORT IN THE GENTLE SUMMER RAIN

The day started cloudy, and I hesitated to go for a walk in search of something interesting to put on photographs, but after many indoors hours in front of the PC screen, definitely it was time to stretch the legs and get a bit of fresh (well, just relatively fresh) air ...

img_9130_malo.jpg

... so I drove to the meadows near the sea ...

img_9132_malo.jpg

... and walked through the tall, dry grass as the sky was getting ready to release some rain. On these first photographs, you can see what looks like two seeds that had somehow fallen on the dry wild carrot's flowerhead and remained attached.

(Enlargeable)

The interesting, quite beautifully shaped seeds, are actually insects.

img_9139_malo.jpg

I don't know the exact species of these very cool bugs. They look like something from the Scutelleridae family.

img_9078_malo.jpg

The warm and humid southern wind was blowing, the grass was in constant motion - or more like slow - motion, so when I took another shot of this dried out plant with just one fresh little flower on it ...

img_9079_malo.jpg

... it looked like this. More stylish definitely. The wind can be pretty irritating when you photograph small details, but it also creates interesting new situations ... and sometimes you are fast & lucky enough to catch them.

img_9128_malo.jpg

A bit further I came across this beautiful tower hidden in the grass. This is the Echium italicum plant.

(Enlargeable)

Some minuscule bee was buzzing around and exploring the interior of the elongated, tube - like flowers. I took this shot when the insect got out of the flower and stopped to clean its mouth and antennae.

img_9096_malo.jpg

While exploring the plant, I was trying to see if there’s something interesting hidden in between branches densely covered with irritating little thorns. At one point, I found this very flat black bug that I never saw before.

img_9105_malo.jpg

Right now, while writing the post, I found on the Internet that this is the Aellopus atratus, a bug from the Rhyparochromidae family. This species is native to Mediterranean, but in recent years has expanded its range north, and can be found in climatically favored areas of Central Europe as well. It's typically found in warm, dry areas with sandy soil, especially on various types of Echium plants.

(Enlargeable)

Some little crab spider was waiting in ambush while the bug was passing by.

img_9120_malo.jpg

Near the living, green Echium italicum plant covered with thorns and flowers ...

img_9126_malo.jpg

... I found a considerably taller, dry one.

(Enlargeable)

There I also found the same kind of black bugs.

img_9124_malo.jpg

While taking this shot, I felt the first gentle raindrops on my skin ...

img_9051_samomalo.jpg

... so I sat in my car and drove home ... I mean, I was directed home, but while passing by the port, I decided to stop and enjoy the atmosphere a bit.

img_9052samomalo.jpg

The raindrops were slowly covering the windshield.

img_9054_samomalo.jpg

I took this photograph of the beach bar in front of me in between movements of the windshield wipers.

img_9056_malo.jpg

The rain wasn't entering the car from the driver side, so I was able to observe and photograph through the open window. Some sailboats were resting in the distance, at the outer edge of the bay ...

img_9061_malo.jpg

... and seagulls were walking along the beach ...

img_9058_malo.jpg

... and all around the car, really.

img_9055_malo.jpg

I noticed some simple, elegant details that looked great on the photograph. There was this relatively big red buoy, followed by a line of small white ones ...

img_9053_malo.jpg

... and this thing also looked pretty cool ... some kind of small, but high table. A cocktail table or something like that.

img_9066_malo.jpg

Some people were swimming ... and the seagulls were watching them from time to time ... that looked kind of funny :) in a cool way ... so I took this shot.

img_9059_samomalo.jpg

I tried to catch the seagulls in flight, but the light was too low, the shutter speed to slow, so this blurred picture is the best I got. After this hot ...

img_9064_malo.jpg

... I decided that it's better to keep shooting the walking birds, and let the flying ones be.

img_9070_malo.jpg

On all these bird photographs, you can see the adult and juvenile Yellow-legged gulls ( Larus michahellis)

img_9067_malo.jpg

This is an adult, ad example.

img_9075_malo.jpg

As this little boat was speeding towards the port ... I decided to go home, straight and definitely this time ... so this post ends here.

As always here on HIVE, the photographs are my work - THE END.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency