Bird Photography - First Steps

I always said to myself that as soon as I´m in Portugal I want to focus on something new. I got plenty of stuff to do plus I got my hobbies like Surfing, Hiking and of course taking photos.

In regards of the Photos I was really focused on Landscapes. That´s why I will try to do some more other motives and since I now have my bigger Lens with me, the Olympus M.Zuiko Digital ED 40-150mm F4‑5.6 I thought I try Bird Photography. The Lens is one of the cheapest you can find but still makes pretty good photos I think. It also might be not the best for bird photography but it has to do it for now as there is other more important things I need like Surfboards :)

So yesterday I did my first steps. I went out and found some small, cute but very fast birds. I managed to take some shots and for my first steps I was quite satisfied. Hope you like them.

P9132404.JPG

P9132403.JPG

P9132401.JPG


I like this photo best so far, even if I only caught the bird from behind.

P9132405.JPG


I always used the full focal length of 150mm. Any tips or tricks for settings or how I can get closer to the birds are appreciated.

Oh and if anyone knows what birds these are let me know. I guess they´re all the same.

HIVE Photography.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency