Okono Warprider - Basalt Keep of Wilven the Yellow Art

okno_warprider.jpg

Greetings all! Here's my latest piece that I did as a concept piece for my Basalt Keep of Wilven the Yellow adventure. I'm quite pleased with this one. I wanted it to have a bit of the look of an animation cell from like the Heavy Metal movie or Ralph Bakshi's work. At any rate, this is an illustration of a dweller of Carcosa, from Robert W. Chambers work the King in Yellow. I am quite intrigued by the Yellow mythos and especially the poem Cassilda's Song from the work. It is very evocative and tends to make my imagination run rampant. Here's the poem as it appears in Chamber's text:

Along the shore the cloud waves break,
The twin suns sink behind the lake,
The shadows lengthen
In Carcosa.

Strange is the night where black stars rise,
And strange moons circle through the skies
But stranger still is
Lost Carcosa.

Songs that the Hyades shall sing,
Where flap the tatters of the King,
Must die unheard in
Dim Carcosa.

Song of my soul, my voice is dead;
Die thou, unsung, as tears unshed
Shall dry and die in
Lost Carcosa.

Great stuff. Anyway, here's a look at this piece uncolored. I've got a few more from Basalt Keep that I'll color as well. It is a sort of meandering project, not unlike the description of Carcosa itself. Cheers and happy gaming!

okno_warprider.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency