welcome to the jungle, I´m Omar/Bienvenido a la Jungla soy Omar

Hello, my name is Omar, I am 42 years old, I am a journalist and I like to write about music, because I am a hopeless music lover.

Hola, mi nombre es Omar, tengo 42 años, soy periodista y me gusta escribir sobre música, porque soy un melómano sin remedio.

" " \" \"1673442764394.jpg\"\"""

When I was a little boy, my mother always bought records, for her and for me, so I had a privileged collection of children's music, beginning with the collection of Enrique and Ana, a group like the Pimpinela group, but rarer because the couple singers was made up of an adult and a girl. Those were other times, people did not have eyes for certain things.

Cuando era un niñito, mi mama siempre compraba discos, para ella y para mi, así que tuve una colección privilegiada de música infantil, empezando por la colección de Enrique y Ana, un grupo como el grupo Pimpinela, pero mas raro porque la pareja de cantantes estaba conformada por adulto y una niña. Eran otros tiempos, la gente no tenia ojos para ciertas cosas

" " \"enrieuq-y-ana.jpeg\"""

courtesy of www.65ymas.com

I had another record that I played and played, I loved it. It was a group of people dressed as panda bears, they called themselves "Chulin and the Panda Clan" and played children's music. A slightly more twisted Boy band. As I told you, those were other times.

Tenía otro disco que ponía y ponía, me encantaba. Era un grupo de personas disfrazadas de osos panda, se hacían llamar “Chulin y el Clan de los Panda” y tocaban música infantil. Una Boy band un poquito mas retorcida. Como les dije, eran otros tiempos.

" " \"panda.jpg\"""

Courtesy of www.todocoleccion.net/

Once I saw them live, my mom took me to a concert at the Los Cedros Theater in Caracas.

I was in the front row, but because of the height of the stage and my 7-year-old size, I couldn't appreciate it. So, like a child who loves chaos and disorder, I sat on the back of the chair and appreciated all the splendor of the stage, and the imposing presence of the band. Six guys dressed as pandas, (there was a female panda, her name was "Fifi", she had a pink scarf.) And an old man dressed as a magician, dancing in front of me, in a suggestive way.

Within a few minutes, the entire row was seated in the back, and those in the back who couldn't see because of all the children crossed, had to do the same. The entire theater was seated in the back. There were approximately 600 children, crazy, threatening and dangerous, singing at the top of their lungs “School Song”, “My name is Chulin”, “Fifi lazo de rosa”.

It's not on Youtube, don't waste your time. I tell you something, they were great.

U_na vez los vi en vivo, mi mama me llevó a un concierto en el Teatro los Cedros, en Caracas._

Estaba en primera fila, pero por la altura del escenario y mi tamañito de 7 años, no podía apreciarlo . Así que, como un niño amante del caos y del desorden, me senté en el espaldar de la silla y para apreciar todo el esplendor del escenario, y la imponente presencia de la banda. Seis tipos disfrazados de panda,(había una panda hembra, se llamaba “Fifi”, tenia un pañuelito rosa.) y un viejo disfrazado de mago, bailando frente a mi, de forma sugerente.

A los pocos minutos, la fila entera estaba sentada en el espaldar y los de atrás que no podían ver por todos los niños atravesados, tuvieron que hacer lo mismo. Todo el teatro estaba sentado en el espaldar. Eran aproximadamente 600 niños, enloquecidos, amenazantes y peligrosos, cantando a todo pulmón “Canción de la Escuela”, “Me llamo Chulin”, “Fifi lazo de rosa”.

No esta en Youtube, no pierdan su tiempo. Les digo algo, eran buenísimos.

In my house music was always listened to, when I was restless, my mother took out a record, put it on, and without any fear gave me the cover. For me, listening to the music, watching the record spin, and detailing the cover became a relaxing experience, while I was still on a piece of furniture listening to music, my mom could take care of hers.

En mi casa siempre se escuchaba música, cuando yo estaba intranquilo, mi mama sacaba un disco, lo ponía a sonar, y sin temor alguno me entregaba la caratula. Para mi, escuchar la música, ver el disco girar, y detallar la caratula se convirtió en una experiencia relajante, mientras yo estaba quieto en un mueble oyendo musiquita, mi mama podía ocuparse de lo suyo.

I remember one in particular, a cover different from the rest. It was a photo of the crotch of someone wearing pants, the image was black and white, but there was a relief on the right side of the zipper. It was nothing more and nothing less "Sticky fingers" by the Rolling Stones. He had no idea what they said in the songs, but he connected with many of them, he understood that "Dead Flowers" was kind of sad and "Bitch" conveyed anger. I always listen to that record and it brings back childhood memories.

Recuerdo uno en particular, una portada distinta al resto. Era una foto de la entrepierna de alguien que usaba un pantalón, la imagen eran blanco y negro, pero se notaba un relieve al lado derecho del cierre. Era nada mas y nada menos “Sticky fingers” de the Rolling Stones. No tenia idea que decían en las canciones, pero conectaba con muchas de ellas, entendía que “Dead flowers” era medio triste y “Bitch” transmitía rabia. Siempre escucho ese disco y me trae recuerdos de infancia.

" "the rolling stones.jpg""

Courtesy of https://www.vam.ac.uk/.

One day on television, I don't remember the channel, I saw a video of a band playing something live with which I immediately connected, at that age it seemed very powerful to me. "Paradise city" by Guns n Roses. . From that moment I loved rock, and started collecting records.

Un día en televisión, no recuerdo el canal, vi el video de una banda tocando en vivo algo con lo que conecté inmediatamente, a esa edad me parecía poderosísima. “Paradise city” de Guns n Roses. . Desde ese momento amé el rock , y empecé a coleccionar discos.

The first one I bought was "Use your illusion I" I admit that I got caught up in the ballads of that album, which were the first songs that came to me thanks to their videos "don't cry" and "November rain", but when I listened to that album in its entirety, I liked it so much that I played it over and over again, I became a die-hard Guns n Roses fan.

El Primero que compré fue, “Use your illusion I” reconozco que me dejé atrapar por las baladitas de ese disco, que fueron las primeras canciones que llegaron a mi gracias a sus videos “don t cry” y “November rain”, pero cuando escuche completo ese disco, me gustó tanto que lo ponia, una y otra vez, me volví un fan a muerte de Guns n roses.

That year, 1992 Guns was going to set foot on Venezuelan soil, he would offer a concert in the parking lot of the polyhedron, I wanted to go but nobody took me. So, that November 25, I had to stay at home listening to my record. Two days later, on the 27th, some soldiers began to bomb various parts of the city. I lived in the center and I heard the bombs that fell on Miraflores, the Venezuelan presidential palace, explode. Some of the band's teams stayed in our country, and their subsequent concert in Colombia was quite eventful. We were in the middle of a "Civil War" that's how I perceived it, and that song became the musical theme of the day, of that military coup attempt.

Ese año, 1992 Guns iba a pisar suelo venezolano, ofrecería un concierto en el estacionamiento del poliedro, yo quería ir pero nadie me llevó. Así que, ese 25 de noviembre, me tocó quedarme en casa escuchando mi disco. Dos días después, el 27, unos militares empezaron a bombardear varios puntos de la ciudad. Yo vivía en el centro y escuchaba explotar las bombas que caían en Miraflores, el palacio presidencial de Venezuela. Algunos equipos de la banda se quedaron en nuestro país, y su posterior concierto en Colombia fue bastante accidentado. Estábamos en medio de una “Civil War” así lo percibí , y esa canción se convirtió en el tema musical de la jornada, de aquel intento de golpe militar.

I also have to tell you that I lived in Chile for five years, in September 2017 I emigrated and that same month I was able to get the nail out of seeing Guns n Roses, with part of the original lineup.

_También tengo que contarles, que viví cinco años en Chile, en septiembre del 2017 emigré y ese mismo mes pude sacarme el clavo de ver a Guns n Roses, con una parte de la alineación original. _" " \"guns.jpg\"""

My stay in Chile was like that of any emigrant, with its ups and downs. A good experience, but it's over. On November 21, 2021, I was returning to Venezuela, sometimes things take a different path than what you planned, one day things collapse, and it's time to abandon ship.

Mi estadía en Chile fue como la de todo emigrante, con sus altas y bajas. Una buena experiencia, pero se acabó. El 21 de noviembre del año 2021 estaba retornando a Venezuela, a veces las cosas toman un camino distinto a lo que planeas, un día las cosas se derrumban, y toca abandonar el barco.

But having lived in that country allowed me to enjoy a country with a lot of rock, in fact, contrary to Venezuela, rock is massive and is heard in all social strata, therefore, Santiago de Chile was a destination city in the Latin American tours of important artists

Thanks to this I was able to see Guns n roses, The Who, Pearl Jam, Depeche Mode, Greta van Fleet, Mike Patton, Deftones, Kreator, Anthrax and Slayer, really, I can't complain, I still have faith that Venezuela will be taken over again into account for tours by renowned artists.

Pero haber vivido en ese país, me permitió disfrutar de un país con mucho rock, de hecho, al contrario de Venezuela, el rock es masivo y se escucha en todos los estratos sociales, por lo tanto, Santiago de Chile era una ciudad destino en las giras latinoamericanas de importantes artistas

Gracias a esto pude ver a Guns n roses, The Who, Pearl Jam, Depeche Mode, Greta van Fleet, Mike Patton, Deftones, Kreator, Anthrax y Slayer, de verdad, no puedo quejarme, igual tengo fe que Venezuela sea otra vez tomado en cuenta para giras de artistas de renombre.

Also in Chile I discovered and learned a lot about the cannabis industry. In Chile until yesterday, self-cultivation was illegal, but it was allowed for some reasons. If you didn't attract much attention, you could sow your plant at home. I did it and I became an enthusiast of self-cultivation for medicinal purposes.

También en Chile descubrí y aprendí mucho sobre la industria del cannabis, En Chile hasta ayer, el autocultivo era ilegal, pero se permitía por algunas razones. Si no llamabas mucho la atención podías sembrar tu planta en casa. Yo lo hacia y me convertí en un entusiasta del autocultivo con fines medicinales.

So I became a functional cannabis user, and my ex girlfriend too, she suffered from some health problems, nothing serious, but she needed lifelong treatment, at first marijuana was her only treatment and it helped her a lot. In my case, I suffered from an allergy that forced me to take every other day, an anti-allergy, Cetirizine, which in the long term affected the kidneys. With the help of cannabis, that allergy almost disappeared and I don't take that pill.

Así que me volví un usuario de cannabis, y mi ex novia tambien, ella sufría de algunos problemas de salud, nada grave, pero necesitaba tratamiento de por vida, al principio la marihuana era su único tratamiento y le sirvió bastante. En mi caso, yo sufría de una alergia que me obligaba a tomar un dia de por medio, un antialérgico, Cetirizina que a largo plazo afectaba a los riñones. Con la ayuda del cannabis, esa alergia casí desapareció y no tomo esa pastilla.

That is another of the things that I am going to talk to you about, explain to you and demolish myths about cannabis, it is not as bad as we have been told, it could even help us in many aspects.

Eso es otra de las cosas que voy a hablarles, explicarles y a derrumbar mitos sobre el cannabis, no es tan mala como nos han dicho, inclusive podría ayudarnos en muchos aspectos.

On my return to Venezuela, I opened an online record store, I started by selling mine, and little by little the stock and the clientele are growing. you can follow me on instagram at @rockaphillia.

Here I am going to write about music, to discover new artists so that they do not get stuck in the nineties and update the soundtrack of their lives, we will also talk a lot about Cannabis and all the possibilities for improvement in many aspects that this noble little plant brings in its terpenes

Expand the doors of perception.

En mi retorno a Venezuela, abrí una tienda online de discos, empece por vender los míos, y poco a poco va creciendo el stock y la clientela. pueden seguirme en instagram en @rockaphillia.

Aquí voy escribir sobre música, a descubrir nuevos artistas para que no se queden atrapados en los noventas y actualicen la banda sonora de sus vidas, también hablaremos mucho sobre Cannabis y todas las posibilidades de mejora en muchos aspectos que esta noble plantita trae en sus terpenos

Expandan las puertas de la percepción.

Traductor: https://translate.google.com/
Imagenes: Enrique y Ana www.65ymas.com
Chulin y el Clan de los pandas: www.todocoleccion.net
The Rolling stones Sticky Fingers: https://www.vam.ac.uk/

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency