The Music That Moves Me

MyMusic.png

Hello everyone and welcome back to my participation in Part 3 of the Blogging Challenge. Today is Day 14 and one of my favorite topics -- music. I grew up in the rock and roll and blues era. Not much really interests me after that period.

Rock and roll music resides in my head every day. Sometimes I feel like a radio station channel from the old days or a juke box where you place the quarter in it and select your tune. My mind is just waiting for the last song to finish.

Today I'm going to present to you one of my favorite rock and roll groups and give you a glimpse into my collection that includes a fabulous female rock star who exhibited not only an onstage talent, but also offstage rock star philanthropic personality.

JOAN JETT and the Blackhearts

An American singer, songwriter, composer,and producer, Joan Jett wanted to do it all. Her music career started while she was a teenager. She worked hard and eventually became the founding member of her first rock and roll group, The Runaways. She admits freely that back in the 60s, she was constantly told by everyone that girls couldn't be rock stars and succeed in the industry.1

I can tell you that she certainly proved all of them wrong.

Not having tremendous success at first, her group didn't give up. They eventually recorded a hit single named "Cherry Bomb". Not soon after, the group split up. Joan then began her solo career.

Joan's next project was to form the band The Blackhearts. With Joan leading the group as the owner and leader singer, she gained immense recognition of her talents. She had several hit singles and albums. Her album Bad Reputation, was a success.

However, when her group released their second album I Love Rock and Roll in 1982, it was highly successful in part due to the album's single with the same title. The song "I love Rock and Roll" was on the Billboard Hot 100 list. In fact, it was held the Top 10 single spot for seven weeks in 1982. Joan's other hits include "Dirty Deeds," "I Hate Myself For Loving You," "Do You Wanna Touch Me (Oh Yeah)," and a remake of Tommy James' classic "Crimson and Clover." I love "Crimson and Clover" as much as I love the song "I Love Rock and Roll".1

I want to share with you the Official Music Video for my favorite song: "I Love Rock and Roll". I hope you enjoy it as much as I do each day.


Official music video for "I Love Rock and Roll" from YouTube

Not only was Joan Jett a staunch feminist, her ownership of a record label "The Blackhearts" served as a safe haven for young girls who wished to find a place where they could express themselves and feel comfortable in their work environment. Finally, Joan and her group participated in numerous USO Armed Forces entertainment tours in support of our troops. She has numerous activities outside of music. She admits that being an activist in Farm Sanctuary was extremely fulfilling. Finally, the film industry recognized her talent and showcased her music in several films. 2

Joan Jett and The Blackhearts were inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2015.1 A well-deserved honor.

However, sometimes a young artist comes along that sound familiar. It brings back memories of what you're used to. That young artist is Jessie Ware.

JESSIE WARE

Jessie ware is a British singer and songwriter. Born in 1984, she rose to stardom quickly to stardom. Her first album in 2012, Devotion was a hit. The single on that album, "Wildest Moments" is awesome. The album was nominated for a Mercury Prize.3 I love this song and play it everyday. It's not often a young artist captures my attention, but Jessie did.


Official music video for "Wildest Moments" from YouTube

Interestingly enough, Jessie now has a food podcast.

text16.png

Thank you for taking the time to read my topic for today about my favorite music. What is your favorite music? I'd like to know in a comment below.

30-Day Blog Challenge-PART 3.png

Follow my 30-Day Blogging Challenge below:
Day 1
Day 2
Day 3
Day 4
Day 5
Day 6
Day 7
Day 8
Day 9
Day 10
Day 11
Day 12
Day 13

@flaxz initiative #iamalivechallenge (Published my Day 12 of the 30-Day Blogging Challenge [Part 3] post today)

Thanks,
@justclickindiva

Happy rest of the week everyone with whatever your endeavors.

B.I.S.S.-March-Sanwiteer.jpg

SOURCES:

a) JustClickindiva's Footer created in Canva utilizing its free background and images used with permission from discord admins.
b) Unless otherwise noted, all photos taken by me with my (i) Samsung Galaxy 10" Tablet, (ii) Samsung Phone, & (iii) FUJI FinePix S3380 - 14 Mega Pixels Digital Camera
c) Purple Butterfly part of purchased set of Spiritual Clip Art for my Personal Use
d) All Community logos, banners, page dividers used with permission of Discord Channel admins.
e) Ladies of Hive banner used with permission of and in accordance with the admin's guidelines.
f) Thumbnail Image created in Canva by @justclickindiva utilizing its free images and bckgrnds
1 Joan Jett - Songs, Age & Musicians. Biography.com
2 Joan Jett. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joan_Jett
https://www.biography.com/musician/joan-jett
3 Jessie ware. Wikipedia. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jessie_Ware

Your Personal Terminal Discord Invite

Copy of Copy of Decorative Shape Facebook Cover1.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency