MUSIC: Three Tune Tuesday 77 - 3 Songs About "Rain"! (2 Covers + 1 Original!)


(I usually use 3speak to post videos these days, but it kept timing out for me today? I haven't used Youtube in a while - haha!)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa.

This is my twelfth week contributing to "Three Tunes Tuesday", started by @ablaze. It is week 77 overall!

I am trying to stick to a set pattern, where I perform 2 cover songs (written by famous artists) and 1 original song (written by me) around a theme. This week I've chosen the theme of Songs about “Rain”!

For the first cover song I'm going to wear my cowboy hat and play something I heard playing in my house quite often when I was growing up, namely “Have You Ever Seen the Rain?” by Creedence Clearwater Revival – a band that my parents loved!

Here is a video of the original:

For the second cover song, I’m going to sing “Dreams” by Fleetwood Mac. For some reason, this was not part of my parents' music collection as they carried over from tape cassettes to CD and I started listening to music a lot. As a result, I actually first became familiar with the song by the version that the Corrs did. I use a similar chord structure to the Corrs, but I jazz it up a bit with an up-tempo emphasized rhythm, which gives it life despite playing it solo…

Here is a video of the original:


And here is the version by the Corrs (that poor brother with three beautiful sisters... must have loved bringing his friends over as a teenager, hahaha!):

Finally, for my own song – The context is that in some parts of South Africa like the Karoo, Northern Cape and West Coast, you are lucky if it rains all year, and so to feel the sky go clean and to see the dust fly as big rain drops fall is a huge relief! I equate that to the feeling when your loved one/soulmate finally returns after being away in my song “You are the Rain”.

Before I go: Please look out for my weekly cover request post on Thursday! If you make a song request in the comments, and then I attempt the song, you get rewarded with 50% of that post's rewards in HP! Please have a think about what song you would like me to tackle for you?

Lyrics for “You Are The Rain” by @jasperdick (Original)

There ain’t a cloud in this burning sky
And the land is dry and grey
If it don’t rain soon then everything will die
That’s how I feel when you’re away, ‘coz…
I don’t like living without you
I don’t like living without you there
I don’t like living without you
This loneliness is more than I can bare…

I see a cloud forming in the sky
Rolling in across the sea
Now there’s a chance that everything won’t die
It’s like I’ve heard that you’re coming home to me, ‘coz…
I don’t like living without you
I don’t like living without you there
I don’t like living without you
Come home soon or my heart will tear…
My heart will tear!
Without you there…
My heart will tear!
Without you there…

You are the Rain
You quench the drought in my soul
You take away the pain
So my darling, come on home…

Big drops are falling down from the sky
The land is green again
Tears of joy roll down from my eyes
As long as you remain, ‘coz…
I don’t like living without you
I don’t like living without you there
I don’t like living without you
Please don’t leave or my heart will tear…
My heart will tear!
Without you there…
My heart will tear!
Without you there…

You are the Rain
You quench the drought in my soul
You take away the pain
So my darling, don’t let go…

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency