Redemption Song - Ed Privat (Cover)


Monday Live (I am starting a thing)

Another succesful weekend!

How have you been? I hope you had a good weather, a good time, and feel well rested, ready to attack a brand new week.

As I was recovering from a bit of a flu (or else), my voice was particularly raspy, so I thought of songs that could fit the tone.
The first in mind was the Barry White song "The First, Last, My Everything" that I might work on it throughout the week, giving it a studio vibe, maybe changing the style to a bossa nova, because it deserves to spend some time on it.

But in the meantime, this is the "Monday Live", so every monday I've been playing a song live, and every Friday I release a song which requires a little bit more studio time and all.

I did this last week, and it was cool, so I am doing it also this week, and we will see if it's still as cool as last week!

This song, Redemption Song, by Bob Marley, fits the tone for today. I cannot tell you how much I love this track, I use to play it all the time at gigs, events, castings, it was my song.

Funny how I took the guitar today, and played it half time for the first time (for the unititiated, it means that instead of accentuatiing on the 2 and 4 of a bar, I put accents on the 1 and 3).

It's interesting because I've been looking at the guitar in a very different way lately, even the 7 modes, seem to interconnect with each others, like electrons and atoms, and I am not in charge anymore, I let it be, and the music seems to find its own pathway.
That's also why I am less and less interested in listening artists of the same genre as mine, because I take the habit of imitate what I consume, we are all copycats, and I much prefer listening to something with a complete different style, I think @mipiano said something similar the other day.

Anyway, I love the original by Bob Marley of course, I also love the cover by Stevie Wonder, I love the version by a French artist called Tété, and now I am going my own tangeant, I try not to think of anyone's version, and be free.

It also means sometimes, it isn't perfect, I fuck up, but we aren't trying to pass a test here, right? It's more about feeling the moment.

Playing in the nature, it feels that this is how this song was supposed to be played. Cheers!

Redemption Song
Bob Marley

Old pirates, yes, they rob I
Sold I to the merchant ships
Minutes after they took I
From the bottomless pit
But my hand was made strong
By the hand of the Almighty
We forward in this generation
Triumphantly
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our minds
Have no fear for atomic energy
'Cause none of them can stop the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look? Ooh
Some say it's just a part of it
We've got to fullfil the book
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever have
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Redemption songs
Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery
None but ourselves can free our mind
Woah, have no fear for atomic energy
'Cause none of them-a can-a stop-a the time
How long shall they kill our prophets
While we stand aside and look?
Yes, some say it's just a part of it
We've got to fullfill the book
Won't you help to sing
These songs of freedom?
'Cause all I ever had
Redemption songs
All I ever had
Redemption songs
These songs of freedom
Songs of freedom


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
21 Comments
Ecency