From my chamber: An Omani man with fracture foot | IAAC #2

Hello everybody! This is my second post for I am alive challenge run by @flaxz. This is also my today's @actifit report. Like yesterday, I have divided this post into 4 sections. Please bear with me.


History

The day before yesterday one Omani young man of 17 years of age came to my chamber with injury to his left foot. He got the injury while playing football. He had pain in the left foot and was limping while walking.

I inspected his left foot. It was swollen on the upper part. It was tender as well. He had no injuries in other parts of his body. I explained to him that we need to do one X-ray to see if there are any fracture bones or not. He agreed.

He went to the X-ray department. A few minutes later he returned back with the X-ray film. There was a fracture in his 4th toe.

In my clinic, there is no option to put a plaster of Paris (POP). So, I informed him of everything and gave one emergency referral letter to go to the higher centre to see an orthopaedic doctor for better management. He left afterwards.
fracture.png
X-ray left foot AP and Lateral views show fracture at the 4th toe | X-ray of my patient


Take-home messages:

Any break in the continuity of the structure of a bone is called a fracture. If the overlying skin is intact, it is called a closed fracture or simple fracture. However, if the skin is breached/cut/opened, it is called compound fracture or open fracture. [ Close fracture Vs Open fracture, Or, Simple fracture Vs Compound fracture]

A fracture may take place in one of the following three ways:

  • Fracture due to sudden trauma in a previously normal bone. E.g. My patient, mentioned in history.

  • Fracture due to repetitive stress or repetitive minor trauma. The bones are normal as well. E.g. fracture of leg bones or foot bones in dancers, athletes or army recruits. This type of fracture is called stress or fatigue fracture.

  • Another type of fracture takes place in abnormal and weak bones. It is called a pathological fracture. The fracture may take place without any significant stress. Commonly seen in osteoporotic bones.

Source: Apley and Solomon’s Concise System of Orthopaedics and Trauma; 4th edition; page 325


Why I am grateful to my creator (Allah) [I am a Muslim]?

I am grateful. Because-

  • I am alive today. 11,836 people around the world didn't live for another day due to COVID19 [www.worldometers.info on 24th December]

  • I didn't have a fractured bone, like my patient. I also used to play during my childhood. Now don't have time for that.

  • The Omani young man was the patient who came to a doctor. I am the doctor who treated him.

All praise to Allah. Alhamdulillah.


My today's win


hafiz34.gif


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


14380
Aerobics, Daily Activity, Moving Around Office, Play with kids/grand kids, Treadmill
Height
165 cm
Weight
68.6 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency