From my chamber: A patient with diarrhoea | My first IAAC

Hello! Friends of the Hive blockchain. This is my first post in the I am alive challenge started by Erik Gustafsson, AKA @flaxz. It is also my today's @actifit report. I am going to share my post in 4 different sections. Firstly, I am going to state a brief history of a patient I consulted recently in my chamber. In the second section, I will highlight a few "take-home messages" based on today patient's history. In the third part, I will describe "why I am grateful to my creator" for the way I am living now. And in the final part, I will add my proof of today's win to take part in the project run by @wil.metcalfe. Please bear with me.


History of a patient:

The patient was a Sri Lankan housemaid, came to my chamber at the morning shift, with her sponsor. She had complaints of severe headache, vomiting and diarrhoea for several times since last night. She also had mild abdominal pain. She didn’t have any fever, cold and cough or any urinary problems. On inquiry, they didn’t admit to having the same problem with other family members. She also didn’t eat from any restaurant.

On examination, her vitals were within normal limits except mild to moderate dehydration. It was most likely a case of acute food poisoning, although surprisingly, other family members were unaffected. Her headache could be due to dehydration. Anyway, I gave the treatment accordingly. Then they left.


Take home messages

A diarrhoea can be divided into 4 types:

  • Acute watery diarrhoea (AWD)
  • Diarrhoea with blood in the stool (acute or chronic)
  • Long-standing or chronic diarrhoea; mostly watery
  • Steatorrhoea; mostly fatty components in the stool

If a diarrheal illness persists for at least 4-6 weeks, it is considered as chronic diarrhoea.

A diarrheal illness may take place either due to infection or without any infections. (i.e. Infective diarrhoea Vs non-infective diarrhoea)

Bacteria, virus and protozoa are common organisms that are responsible for diarrhoea. It is known as infective diarrhoea. As it usually presents within a short period of time, acute infective diarrhoea is the most commonly used term.

If a patient only presents with diarrhoea, without any vomiting, it is thought that the problem is in the colon (distal/ terminal parts of the GIT). We can call it enteritis. However, if vomiting and diarrhoea coexist, we call it gastroenteritis (stomach and colon, both are affected).

Information is from my memory, I acquired and still learning, during my study and my practice respectively. And also from one of the medical textbooks called John Murtagh's general practice; 6th edition: page 488


Why I am grateful to My Creator (Allah)? [I am a Muslim]

I am grateful, because-

I am alive today, while thousands of people died over the period of the last 24 hours.

The lady who came to me was suffering from vomiting, diarrhoea, headache, while I was completely free from that illness.

She was the patient who came to a doctor, while I was the doctor who treated her.

All praise to Allah! Alhamdulillah!

img_0.13200533330775335.jpg
Me, after taking PCR samples from a person.


My today's win.



This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


14733
Aerobics, Daily Activity, Moving Around Office, Play with kids/grand kids, Treadmill
Height
165 cm
Weight
68.8 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency