My Actifit Report Card: September 4 2021

Forecast was for rain in the afternoon. That got me moving to go for a ride and walk to check a fire trail I have not walked for a week. I am hoping to find white finger orchids I saw there a few years back

First of the milk maids for the season - Burchardia umbrellata

Walked on the far side of the cleared area under the powerlines - glossodia minor - small waxlip orchid

Came back to the main trail to check on the tall leek orchid. My friend had said it looked as if a vehicle had driven by and damaged it. There were tracks there but it looks more like a critter has eaten some of the flowers

Close up of prasophyllum elatum

Side on.

Chose to check out a few side trails that go down to the big power poles

First new, new orchid of the day was this spotted sun orchid

Top flower was a mini-version in perfection

A little side on to see the shape of the column

Walked down a side trail to see if the flying duck orchids have begun. Did find a waxlip orchid I saw last walk. Close up.

I figured I might find some in the grassy area away from the track - and found one with quite a deeper colour. I am learning each time I go out.

There were no flying duck orchids - tracked back and saw a flash of white - caladenia alata in a new location

Close up - the petals are maybe 4 mm long.

Side on. These orchids grow in colonies - find one and there will be a few more and a few days apart

The leaves for two plants

Just have to love the detail

On the way back found a reason to come back in a few days - maybe a bearded orchid

The sun orchid I saw last time was looking sad. Something made me look right further on - saw this one. Something likes eating the petals

Thelymitra ixioides

Looks like a mite is sucking sap too - flowers do not normally fold like this

Still waiting for this orchid to show its face. I missed it on the way out- so close to where the track begins.

Nice easy ride home to recover from 10,000 steps of walking - not as strenuous a walk as yesterday.

We had a visitor for cheese and wine when I got back. She is my wife's single buddy - each person is allowed one to help with mental health problems. We had a great chin wag.

I cooked salmon sous vide with smashed potatoes for dinner. Our guest felt spoiled. Sad really as I do this every day - eat well and healthy daily.

This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


13455
Cycling, Daily Activity, House Chores, Photowalking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency