Bass In This Place: Fireman’s Retirement Party with Steel Parade

img_4542.jpeg

July 24th 2021 and we are performing for a fireman’s retirement party. All the main fire departments dudes are here.

img_4544.jpg

All is chill everyone is polite and accommodating. Some guy doing a pre-party run around/checking-in on everyone, turned out to be the retirement boy! I had no idea. I thought the guy retiring was the guy watching the TV. Very attentive host.

img_4546.png

SANDY BUS:

Can you see this GIF? Can you find Sandy Bus in it?

img_4552.gif

img_4549.png

img_4550.png

FOOD:
Tacos are the smartest way to feed lots of people. Having a party? Hire a taco catering crew to bring a stove and set up a taco buffet in your backyard.

img_4322.heic

img_4265.heic

img_4267.heic

STEEL DRUM, SHOES, GO TIME!

img_4244.heic

These shots as we walk in are a tradition. This is the part where we walk in to perform. It’s usually the time when I’m double checking my camera settings for video or broadcasts. It’s a good time to snap a few quick shots of Phil carrying his steel drum onto the stage.

img_4248.heic

img_4255.heic

img_4261.heic

img_4262.heic

img_4270.heic

INSTRUMENTS:

img_4274.heic

img_4277.heic

img_4278.heic

FIRST BREAK:
We get to eat tacos now! Yum… where the fuck are the plates? No plates. I need this verde sauce now!

img_4281.heic

WTF are the plates!?!? Maybe later… I guess I’ll have a beer while I wait for later.

BEER:

Do this with your vintage cast iron tub?

img_4548.png

Maybe they don't know cast iron tubs can be re-glazed? Is that a word? You know, spray it with that poisonous white stuff. What ever, looks cool. The first person to pass out gets dipped in the ice water after all the beer is gone. I just made that up.

img_4283.heic

Someone said they like this being shot a lot. So I did it again and this time included the veins in my hand. Piss, vinegar, and weed pumpin’ strong.

img_4282.heic

We go back on stage/under another tree. The last performance was under a tree also. The panoramic shot habit I mentioned in a previous post is developing slowly. I forgot to take one.

img_4538.png

SECOND BREAK AND ANNOUNCEMENTS:

img_4290.heic

These taco guys were in a hurry. Arrived lated, looked inexperienced and then under-cook the meat. I'm still eating eat. I probably have a few parasites now.

img_4285.heic

Middle, red shirt, that's the retirement guy. He looks young for retirement. It feels like I’m writing for a funeral, but this Guy is one of the healthiest looking people I’ve seen at a retirement party.

img_4286.heic

img_4287.heic

img_4293.heic

That’s it. People danced, couples danced and everyone had fun. People loved the music and they were fun to perform for.

We always let people explore the instruments. These big kids are no different.

img_4529.png

People need to touch and feel what it’s like. The steel drum is especially interesting. Bass seems boring until they realize what it’s like to play it loud. I never realize how sensitive it can be.

GLAM SPAM:

While waiting and after the taco guys packup, we take another break. I found this cool stack of bricks. Long ago I started to develop a tradition of creating images two of me.

img_4531.png

Why? Something different, selfie with effort, and eye candy. Not trying to be a ghost.

Someone said I should take more pictures of myself… I understand. I’m grateful.

img_4530.png

VIDEO!

I have video. I don’t have time to edit it.

img_4535.png

img_4537.png

I’m still working on the last one. I recorded the same song in both videos. I might combine them.

img_4539.png

Thanks to Steel Parade.
Show Steel Parade some love here: https://steelparade.bandcamp.com/
If you want to see more images and video from Steel Parade performances, search deep into Steel Parade's Instagram profile: https://instagram.com/steelparade?utm_medium=copy_link

Thanks for reading.
Thanks for supporting this post.
I’m delighted to answer any questions.

img_6575.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency