My book collection #1 / Mi colección de libros #1

Greetings to all! On this occasion I am going to share with you a few photographs of some of the most precious things I have: my books. I have a small collection of books that I am going to share in a series of posts, but for now I will only show you four of the ones that have the most value to me, from a sentimental point of view.

I will start this series with four of the books that I hold most dear:

1) Don Quijote de la Mancha - Miguel de Cervantes.
2) Anabasis - Jenofonte
3) Uncle Tom's Cabin - Harriet Beecher Stowe
4) Cantaclaro - Rómulo Gallegos

I decided to start with these four because are the ones that have been in the family the longest, except for Don Quijote, which is here for another reason. The intention of this publication is to present these novels that I decided to keep in my house, since these were books that were initially in my grandmother's house and were going to be discarded or given away.

Let me tell you. In my grandmother's house they used to keep many old things, from old typewriters to tools older than me (I am 27 years old). When I was little, they remodeled; they tore down the old one and built a new one, much bigger, where we could all fit comfortably. There were 9 of us then, so that should give you an idea of why these remodeling jobs were necessary. As happens in any remodeling, a lot of old things are thrown out, and one of those things they threw out were the books. Sure, they kept many, but more ended up in the trash and still others were given away. I remember when I was a kid I used to read a book with the stories of the Grimm brothers; it was a book with very realistic and really beautiful illustrations, some scary and others that I just didn't understand. That book was discarded and now that I am more aware of the importance of books, I would love to have it in my hands, but no, I don't have it.

Recently, a few years ago, they did another cleaning and got rid of a lot of old things that were no longer useful, among those things were some books. I rescued some books and asked the family for others that were lying around. They had no problem in giving them to me and in this way, I put together my small collection. This is why these books are important to me, because I grew up reading their stories and if I had not taken them home, they would probably be in the trash or in someone else's hands. A very unique case is the book I will mention below.

While I was in elementary and high school, I read many books that I lost. I read the stories of Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Charlie and the Great Glass Elevator, Oscar Wilde's stories, The Knight in Rusty Armor, The Princess Who Believed in Fairy Tales, and many more. My brother, on the other hand, was not as fond of books as I was; he too was required in school to read books, but he did not always read them and left them lying around, forgotten. At present my brother is not here with me, in my country; I keep this book with me as a souvenir of him, because it belonged to him. Regardless of how famous Don Quijote book is, it could be any other work and it would still have the same sentimental value for me. The book my brother left me...

This book also holds a lot of sentimental value for me, mostly because of what is in the dedication, which I will show you later. You see, my grandfather was a frustrated person in a certain sense, because he was unable to complete his studies. He studied only elementary school, without going to high school or university. Unfortunately, his family was very poor and he had to abandon his studies in elementary school in order to be able to work as a child, those were other times; however, he was a very intelligent person, who read a lot and learned things without anyone teaching him; I am sure he would have been a great professional if he had the opportunity to study. Being the way he was, my grandfather instilled in his children a love for reading and studying, which is why my mother and uncles studied at the university, all of them being professionals. Having told all this, take a look at the following picture:

"For my children with a lot of pessimism, because maybe they will not read this book, since Venezuelan youth does not like reading".

That's what it says in the dedication. My grandfather was like that, he had a strange personality. He loved his children, but his temperament was very difficult to understand. Even so, with his strange personality, he dedicated himself to buying many works for his children, such as Anábasis, just one of the collection of "Obras Inmortales" published by Editorial Bruguera, S.A. It was the only one that remained from that collection, so it is very valuable to me because it is also signed by my grandfather. Another work that is signed by my grandfather is the following one...

To be honest I have not read it, because it is a book that is very old and I prefer to keep it at home without touching it too much, for fear that leaves come out. Maybe there is a digital version, but I haven't found it, so I will quote verbatim from wikipedia to give you an idea of what the book is about:

is an anti-slavery novel by American author Harriet Beecher Stowe. Published in 1852, the novel had a profound effect on attitudes toward African Americans and slavery in the U.S. and is said to have "helped lay the groundwork for the Civil War".

The story looks interesting, but I haven't read it. It is on hold, as I have yet to read other works I have in my collection. Even so, this work holds sentimental value because of what I mentioned above, it is signed by my grandfather with the same dedication:

It says the same as the dedication of "Anábasis". He usually wrote that in the books, I don't know why. I like to think that, if he were alive, he would be proud of the stories his grandson writes, because I love to read and write.

This book entered my collection recently, as did "Cantaclaro" by Rómulo Gallegos.

The works of this author are very popular here in my country and often elementary and high school students studied it in schools, at least this was done when I was in high school. This is the only work of Rómulo Gallegos that I have in my collection, that gives it a great value, but it also belonged to my aunt, being that she read it when she was starting high school, about 40 years ago.

These last two books, as can be seen in the photos, are very old. They were going to be thrown away but I decided to keep them. With some glue and paper I fixed their spines and covers, so these will be with me much longer.

Well friends, this has been all for this publication, I hope you liked it, because my intention is to emphasize the love that should be had towards reading, study and books. If you wish to give your opinion on the subject, I invite you to do so in the comments. I will say goodbye then...

See you next time!



*****Versión en español*****

¡Saludos a todos! En esta ocasión voy a compartir con ustedes unas cuantas fotografías de unas de las cosas más preciadas que tengo: mis libros. Tengo una pequeña colección de obras que voy a compartir en una serie de publicaciones, pero por ahora solo les mostraré cuatro de los que tienen mayor valor para mí, desde un punto de vista sentimental.

Comenzaré esta serie con cuatro de los libros que guardo con más cariño:

1) Don Quijote de la Mancha - Miguel de Cervantes
2) Anábasis - Jenofonte
3) La cabaña del tío Tom - Harriet Beecher Stowe
4) Cantaclaro - Rómulo Gallegos

Decidí comenzar con estos cuatro porque son los que más tiempo tienen en la familia, excepto por el de don quijote, que está aquí por otro motivo. La intención de esta publicación es presentarles estas novelas que decidí guardar en mi casa, ya que eran libros que inicialmente estaban en casa de mi abuela e iban a ser desechados o regalados.

Les cuento. En casa de mi abuela acostumbraban a guardar muchas cosas viejas, desde máquinas de escribir antiguas, hasta herramientas con más años que yo (tengo 27). Cuando estaba pequeño, hicieron remodelaciones; derribaron la vieja y construyeron una nueva mucho más amplia, donde todos cabíamos cómodamente. Éramos 9 en ese entonces, eso debe darles una idea de por qué estas remodelaciones eran necesarias. Como sucede en toda remodelación, se desechan muchas cosas viejas, y una de esas cosas que desecharon fueron los libros. Claro, guardaron muchos, pero otros más terminaron en la basura y otros más los regalaron. Recuerdo que de pequeño leía un libro con los cuentos de los hermanos Grimm; era un libro con ilustraciones muy realistas y realmente bellas, algunas tenebrosas y otras que simplemente no entendía. Ese libro fue desechado y ahora que tengo más noción de la importancia de los libros, me encantaría tenerlo en mis manos, pero no, no lo tengo.

Recientemente, hace unos cuantos años, hicieron otra limpieza y se deshicieron de muchas cosas viejas que no servían, entre esas cosas estaban algunos libros. Yo rescaté algunos libros y le pedí a la familia otros que estaban por ahí tirados. Ellos no tuvieron problemas en regalármelos y de esta manera, armé mi pequeña colección. Por esto son importantes para mí estos libros, porque crecí leyendo sus historias y si no los hubiese llevado a mi casa, probablemente estarían en la basura o en manos de alguien más. Un caso muy singular es el libro que mencionaré a continuación.

Mientras estaba en la escuela primaria y secundaria, leí muchos libros que perdí. Leí los cuentos de Charlie y la fábrica de chocolate, Charlie y el gran ascensor de cristal, los cuentos de Óscar Wilde, el caballero de la armadura oxidada, la princesa que creía en cuentos de hadas y muchos más. Mi hermano, por otra parte, no tenía tanto aprecio por los libros como yo; a él también le exigían en la escuela leer libros, pero no siempre los leía y los dejaba por ahí, en el olvido. Actualmente mi hermano no está aquí conmigo, en mi país; este libro lo guardo conmigo como un recuerdo suyo, porque le pertenecía. Más allá de lo famoso que sea el libro de Don Quijote, este podría tratarse de cualquier otra obra y seguiría teniendo el mismo valor sentimental para mí. El libro que mi hermano me dejó…

Este libro también guarda mucho valor sentimental para mí, más que todo por lo que está en la dedicatoria, que les mostraré más adelante. Verán, mi abuelo fue una persona frustrada en cierto sentido, porque no pudo completar sus estudios. Estudio solo la escuela primaria, sin cursar estudios secundarios ni universitarios. Lamentablemente, su familia era muy pobre y tuvo que abandonar los estudios en la escuela primaria para poder trabajar siendo un niño, eran otros tiempos; sin embargo, era una persona muy inteligente, que leía bastante y aprendía cosas sin que nadie le enseñase; estoy seguro de que habría sido un gran profesional si hubiese tenido la oportunidad de estudiar. Siendo como era, mi abuelo inculcó a sus hijos el amor por la lectura y el estudio, razón por la que mi madre y mis tíos estudiaron en la universidad, siendo todos profesionales. Habiendo contado todo esto, vean la siguiente fotografía:

“Para mis hijos con mucho pesimismo, porque tal vez no llegaran a leer este libro, ya que a la juventud venezolana no le agrada la lectura”

Eso dice en la dedicatoria. Mi abuelo era así, tenía una personalidad extraña. Quería a sus hijos, pero era de temperamento muy difícil de entender. Aún así, con su extraña personalidad, se dedicó a comprar muchas obras a sus hijos, como la de Anábasis, tan solo una de la colección de “Obras Inmortales” que publicó la Editorial Bruguera, S.A. Fue la única que quedó de esa colección, así que es muy valiosa para mí porque también está firmada por mi abuelo. Otra obra que está firmada por mi abuelo es la siguiente…

Para ser sincero no la he leído, porque es un libro que está muy viejo y prefiero tenerlo en casa sin tocarlo demasiado, por miedo a que se salgan hojas. Tal vez exista una versión digital, pero no la he encontrado, así que citaré textualmente de la wikipedia para que tengan una idea del tema del libro:

En La cabaña del tío Tom predomina una temática única: la maldad y la inmoralidad de la esclavitud.

Parece interesante la historia, pero no la he leído. Está en espera, pues aún me falta leer otras obras que tengo en mi colección. Aún así, esta obra guarda valor sentimental por lo que mencioné anteriormente, está firmada por mi abuelo con la misma dedicatoria:

Dice lo mismo que la dedicatoria de "Anábasis". Habitualmente escribía eso en los libros, no sé por qué. Me gusta pensar que, si estuviera vivo, se sentiría orgulloso de las historias que escribe su nieto, pues me encanta leer y escribir.

Este libro entró a mi colección hace poco, al igual que “Cantaclaro”, de Rómulo Gallegos.

Las obras de este autor son muy populares aquí en mi país y con frecuencia los estudiantes de primaria y secundaria la estudiaban en las escuelas, al menos esto se hacía cuando yo estaba en secundaria. Esta es la única obra de Rómulo Gallegos que tengo en mi colección, eso le da un gran valor, pero además perteneció a mi tía, siendo que ella la leyó cuando estaba empezando la escuela secundaria, hace aproximadamente 40 años.

Estos dos últimos libros, como se aprecia en las fotos, están muy viejos. Iban a ser desechados pero yo decidí guardarlos. Con algo de pegamento y papel les arreglé el lomo y las portadas, así estarán conmigo mucho más tiempo.

Bien amigos, esto ha sido todo por esta publicación, espero les haya gustado, pues mi intención es recalcar el amor que se debe tener hacia la lectura, el estudio y los libros. Si desean opinar sobre el tema, los invito a hacerlo en los comentarios. Me despido entonces…

¡Hasta la próxima!




Imagenes editadas con Photoshop
Fotografías tomadas con mi Tablet HP Stream 7
Traducido con DeepL
Images edited with Photoshop
Pictures taken with my HP Stream 7 Tablet
Translated with DeepL

Últimos tres post/Last three posts:
El naufragio del Irasema (Parte I)
Shopping Weekend with mom / Fin de semana de compras con mi mamá
Descubre mi país con fotografías - Discover my country with pictures

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency