Sometimes things just fall into your lap... A #threetunetuesday post

IMG20230129191551.jpg


If you know me, you know that I love music. If you have been following me for a while, you probably also know that I love discovering new music. Sometimes I am actively looking for it and other times it just kind of falls into your lap as the title of this post states.

Usually for my #threetunetuesday posts sponsored by @ablaze, I try to mix things up and share three different songs from three different artists. There have been exceptions though. This week, I'm actually going to share three songs all from the same artist. Simply because I dig them that much.

It's no secret that @mrsbozz and I have attended our fair share of concerts. Due to that fact, I tend to get a lot of emails from different venues or production companies wanting to give me presale access to whatever concerts are in my area.

Many of them I simply move the the trash bin, but there are a couple that I often hold onto. PromoWest is one such email that I don't delete immediately and let me tell you why.

You see, Promo West often shares events that take place at some of the smaller venues in the Columbus, OH and surrounding area. One such venue is a place called Kemba Live. While I have never been there myself, I know my niece has a couple of times. My thinking is, if a band is cool enough to be playing at Kemba Live, then it might be cool enough that she would listen to them.

A bit selfish I know, but any chance I can get to find some common ground with my nieces and nephews is well worth it to me.

IMG_20181020_085517.jpg


That's what led me to The Struts. No, not the kind of strut you see above from my old truck, but the British rock band The Struts that was formed in 2012. I noticed that they were coming to Kemba Live this year, so I went over to Spotify to give them a bit of a listen. I soon realized that they weren't my nieces style of music, but there was something about them that kind of drew me in and although they only have about three or four full albums. I really dig them.


Direct Link


If you listen to their "earlier" stuff (the 2016 album) like "Dirty Sexy Money", you can definitely tell that the lead singer was influenced by Queen. In fact, in the Wiki article I found on them, it talks about how he used to imitate Mr. Fahrenheit in front of the mirror when he was a kid. I'm not going to go into a lot of explanation on these three songs. I'm just going to share them with you and let you decide if you like them or not.

I like finding YouTube videos that include live performances because I think that gives you a good feel for the band and their energy. That being said, I will fully admit that sometimes the album version of a song is much better than the live version. If you watch these videos and you aren't quite convinced, don't give up right away.

Head over to your favorite music platform and see if you can find an album version of some of their songs. Give that a listen, then make your judgement. If you still hate them, so be it. I fully understand!

I'd be interested to know if any of my friends in the UK are familiar with this band.


Direct Link


As you can tell, even on their sophomore album with songs like "In Love With A Camera", the Queen influence is still pretty strong. Even in the lead singer moves around the stage and some of his mannerisms I can see it when I watch it live.

I spent a good part of my day going through all four of their albums the other day and I was honestly really impressed with what I heard. Their music is a little hard, but not so hard that you are wanting to trash your office and throw stuff off your desk.


Direct Link


I wasn't able to find a live video for this song, but "Hands On Me" is a song from their most recent album that was released in 2022. Personally, I can really feel how their music has matured over the past six years even from that 2018 album.

The newest album called Pretty Vicious leans really hard into the pop/rock vibe and it's actually a bit surprising to me that I have never heard one of these songs on the radio. Oh, that's right, I don't really listen to traditional FM radio like I used to.

Maybe that's why...

In any case, I really recommend you take some time and give The Struts a listen. They seem like a pretty cool band and if my summer wasn't already as full as it was, I might think about getting some tickets for that show down at Kemba Live.

More likely though, I'll just enjoy them through the magic of Spotify.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency