Discovering A Flower Show, Right Outside My Office Door

987876687.jpg

IMG_1367 (2).JPG

I Took A Walk Outdoors At Lunch ..

And decided to enjoy the beauty of all the various types of flowers planted just outside the office building. I see them every day, but only really stop to look at them, and appreciate them fully, on occasion. Usually I am rushing around getting everyone situated and off on their duties, then I settle into my routine of phone calls, meetings, reports and emails.

As you can see above and below, I am not the only one busy at minding my own business and working to the fullest.. Oh No.. The bees are also busy doing their thing. I took a few photographs of them at work, at their office. hehe. You know, come to think of it, they never stop for a moment to check to make sure I am okay. Kind of selfish really. hehe.

E20DDE42-CF46-4815-83B5-88CAA2564772.jpeg

How could you blame these guys for flying from flower to flower, without a care in the world, other than collecting natures sweet nectar? I really can't fault them for paying me no mind. Just look at that ocean of Purple Coneflowers. A beautiful wave of purple and orange, nestled by a waterfall of greens. A pollinators delight is what I see, and so must they.

86C7967A-58A7-4810-B550-9B47F5BDB113.jpeg

Then we have these cool looking flowers. I call them Red Hot Poker flowers or Torch Lilies. Not sure if that is 100% correct though. Either way, they are not bothered at all by this stifling heat. As the sweat rolls off my forehead, they appear to be laughing at me, and trying to poke me with their hot poker like flowers.. haha.. just kidding (obviously. otherwise the heat IS really getting to me).

B6665FF3-FC87-4B78-A489-ADF1FD27E942.jpeg

Here we have some bright yellow Coreopsis. The spent flowers are not so nice looking, but they tend to fade away in the presence of the blooms. I really don't notice the dried up blooms as much as the bright yellow display. I tried to use a short depth of field so that the background was a bit blurry.

CA5653B7-DA58-41E5-9FC6-046A6C720290.jpeg

I think this white snowball like flowering bush, is a variety of Hydrangea. The ones lining the fence, are not quite opened yet. I found one that is partially opened up. I remember from last year though, when they do open, the display is awesome!

DB26EF63-E3DF-422F-9F1E-73E18EBA2A2D.jpeg
I have no clue what this flower is called. I know that it is a perennial and that they pop up here and there. They are not making a huge statment in the overall landscape, but are pretty non the less. If you know what this is called, and want to save me some research, please let me know in the comments section. I appreciate the help!

4BBAAC76-A1DF-412D-922C-247AD3484827.jpeg

Another one of those Torch Lilies like above, but this time there is no orange at the tip. I have also seen these in a bright red. We don't have any planted here, but I wish we did, because they are a real show stopper. The butterflies seem to love them too.

080AEA0A-9C3B-499F-B79A-01DA86ADF9D6.jpeg

Pretty yellowy/orange day lilies. These will bloom for a few more weeks and then remain a pretty green color. They will sort of blend in after a while and soften the edges of the beds with their grass like appearance. I rather like them. I have a few at my house in this same shade as well as a dark red/burgundy color.

58295A11-E5E8-4D71-AEC7-7C4D612E28AC.jpeg

Another unknown flower specimen for me. I do not have a very strong knowledge when it comes to perennial or annual flowers. This only means that I need to spend more time at the local nursery or flower center. I am just afraid I would spend too much money.

DB221AD8-B212-4495-AFE1-BF7FD35E37C3.jpeg

Just before I decided that the heat was too much for me, and my break for lunch was wrapping up, I saw a dragonfly on the prowl for other insect prey. He/she was resting on a stick, then quickly flew to a patch of tall grass. I assume it was resing there until it felt the need to move on.. especially after I began snapping photo's of it quietly sitting there.

4CA6AC1F-F4FD-45CF-A6C7-1443EC49DA84.jpeg

A8A00FBC-F90E-4068-8CEF-8451C7AC65F0.jpeg

** I hope you enjoyed this walk through the gardens (at my place of work) as much as I did. It only reminds me that life is too short and sometimes you have to pause to appreciate nature for what she is and what she provides us. I am happy to have done that today.**

Happy Independence Day to all USA Hive Folks!

Hive text divider.png

IMG_00520.jpg

“Shall I tell you the secret of true love? her father once asked her. A friend of mine liked to tell me that women love flowers. He had many flirtations, but he never found a wife. Do you know why? Because women may love flowers, but only one woman loves the scent of gardenias in late summer that remind her of her grandmother's porch. Only one woman loves apple blossoms in a blue cup. Only one woman loves wild geraniums.
That's Mama! Inej had cried.
Yes. Mama loves wild geraniums because no other flower has quite the same color, and she claims that when she snaps the stem and puts a sprig behind her ear, the whole world smells like summer. Many boys will bring you flowers. But someday you'll meet a boy who will learn your favourite flower, your favourite song, your favourite sweet. And even if he is too poor to give you any of them, it won't matter because he will have taken the time to know you as no one else does. Only that boy earns your heart.”

― Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency