¡Wadda covers! ¿Huh? ...for the #ttt Week 150.

Yeah, I'm late! But wait! ¿What the heck? Am I late just because is Sunday? Because today is Sunday instead of Tuesday, Thursday or whenever? Nah, you take it easy and just assume the zen philosophy of that old saying which claims: "Better late than never" or in other words: "It is never too late if the joy is good" So yeah, ¡Embrace funky zen!

The truth is, that during these last few days of the week, I've been kinda busy dealing with some mystical and uncanny stuff. Occupational hazards. As some zen people out there like to say. But in the end, everything good and dandy. ¡Mission accomplished!

The aliens extracted all the organs and blood they needed from me and then left happy and rejuvenated once they placed me back in my crib after the abduction. I am glad to have served and pleased them well. Because this always happens once in a Lent when the planet Nibiru is nearby. And I guess it was about time and certainly I had to intervene them to restore their old genes so that they could continue their cosmic periplus in peace and with good health. So I imagine that from now on, they will be in charge of disseminating all of it throughout the whole galaxy. Oh, I already almost can perceive and hear the growls of some new species of grumpy dinosaurs wandering out there somewhere.

But hey, let's stop with the spatial esotericism and let's get straight to the point.

"Covers" I came here today to talk about covers, didn't I? Yeh yeh yeh, covers, versions, remakes, revivals, remixes, mashups. And of course, of course I'm talking about music. What else was I going to talk about on a mystical, esoteric, #ttt delayed and big banged Sunday?

The reason why I couldn't publish my ttt post earlier during the week. Apart from my contribution to the restoration and salvation of the galaxy, it was due to the fact that I already also had prepared another couple of musical posts, apart of this one, which I had planned to publish and share with you this week to please your sybaritic musical palate.

But which I had not yet decided which of them to publish first. And then, shortly after, these freaken guys from Nibiru came and distracted me with their roguery antics and whatnot preventing me from making a final decision in time. You know?

So if this week I delight your ears, mind, soul and heart on a Sunday, then blame them. Because it's all their fault. I always try to be punctual. Sometimes on Tuesdays, but more often on Thursdays. Almost never on Sundays. Because if I did it on Sundays, then these would tend to be very special. Like is gonna be this one today.

Because today I bring you a young and excellent musician who, as usual and for a change, probably few of you have heard of him before. And not because he might be a complete unknown in the musical world. Nope, nothing like that. Because he actually is a true master with a complete mastery of the very peculiar instruments of his in which he stands out through his live performances in the musical world.

What happens is that this young musician often performs that type of old music that I like so much and is the one that I usually enjoy the most. That type of music with that bluesy, swampy, funky, boogie, groovy and booty shaking flavor which apparently only old zen & esoteric chaps like me usually enjoy. And just for that reason, perhaps most of you don't know him yet. I will wait you tell me below in the comments if I'm right.

And of who here immediately, I'm gonna show you a quick sneak peek of this young and talented musician:

«Lachy Doley»

Oh, and perhaps it is also convenient to clarify that he does not only make covers. No, he also composes, creates, produces and performs a lot of original music of his own inspiration. Only that for this post, I wanted to focus more on the song covers he play to share them with you and so you can better appreciate his extraordinary talent by comparing the sound of his versions with that of the original old songs.

I don't know how many of you have heard of the clavinet before. An old classic musical instrument and basically always present in funk and groovy music. But chances are that instead, you actually have heard of the venerable Hammond Organ many times before, right?

Well, this young musician is not only an expert and a skillful executioner in the performance of these two famous and legendary musical instruments. No, not only that. He dominates them to such a level, that he even had to modify his own to sound exactly how he wanted. Which gives him that extra oomph and pizzazz that makes his performances so unique. By which you have to see it and hear it to believe it.

It has been said that he is one of the best guitarists we have heard in a long time without even playing the guitar in any of his concerts and musical presentations. He does all this through the clavinet. But not just any clavinet. But with his own special modified clavinet. The Whammy Clavinet.

And let's not even talk about his Hammond Organ with a Leslie Speaker setup that he owns. Both also modified. And of which you will have the opportunity to see in what these modifications consist of at the end of this post. So be a little more patient, that I will show you all of that stuff right away. That for everything good you always have to wait.

And as a side and final note before we start, just mention that this is a totally analog musician. Because anyone would think that he uses digital samplers to create such fantastic old-time sounds. But nothing could be further from the truth. Because without digital synthesizers and samplers, and only with great talent and a pair of legendary modified analog keyboards, you certainly can recreate and take any fan back to the best of funk and R&B music and sounds from yester-year. So, let's begin the time-travel periple.

First, thru The Whammy Clavinet



And now, on the Hammond!


¿Funky & Groovy eh?

«Secrets Revealed»


Yeah amazing eh? I hope you liked it. So now go and...

...give to this guy Some Lovin'

Meanwhile, until next week folks!

Leave a comment. Share your experiences and feedback. ¡Be part of the conversation!

«««-$-»»»

"Follows, Comments, Rehives & Upvotes will be highly appreciated"

Cranky Gandalf

Cheers!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency