E-Sensei | My #artecency Entry | Illustration

img_0.41965839438835734.jpg
My #artecency entry for Illustration category

img_0.18382727623661385.jpg

Highest of five, Hivers! 🖐️

As promised from my previous post, here is my official entry to the #artecency contest.

Flashback

I've been so bummed about not being able to participate in the first contest as I haven't read about it until the day of the deadline. Good thing they decided to hold another one, and this time they will accept entries for 2 weeks. So, for those interested they are still accepting entries until the 29th of September. Check out the mechanics here.

I really like joining contests, not because I like winning but because I really love being creative. It is the time I get to create something that I really love and enjoy doing. There's this unusual high that I get from finishing an art piece. Whether it be painting, animation, or just a simple sketch. It's also the only time my brain reaches out to the farthest corners of mind to produce a piece that's worth showing to people. It's like every piece is a part of me; a moment that I leave for spectators to see and appreciate.

I really hesitate putting my art out to the world, especially the internet, because I know there are a lot of gatekeepers and purists out there. Different views about art and perceptions on who can be worthy to be called artists are really intimidating. It's really bad, especially for people like me who didn't go to art school. But I know that there are more people who would appreciate what I'm doing. And that's just the motivation I needed to continue creating more pieces like these.

My Entry

This is my entry for the Illustration category as I am still working on my other entry for the Animation one. If you've been following me, I really am a pun guy. So for this entry, I named it:

E-Sensei

A play on Ecency, if it really is prounced as e-sen-si. For this, my OC's(Original Character)name is Satoshi-sensei. He mastered the art of blogging and blockchains. So he uses the Ecency app to post his lessons online for his students and followers. That makes him an E-Sensei.

img_0.7430393322774611.jpg
My pencil on paper sketch

img_0.48627771189722274.jpg
Line work in Autodesk Sketchbook app

img_0.6685007491374518.jpg
Coloring

img_0.10455253879016807.jpg
Adding shadows

img_0.41965839438835734.jpg
Finished product

I really had fun making this, and I am just so happy to have found a place where I can share my creations without worrying too much about the gatekeepers. Emoji comment for the day is 🥋.

Thank you for your time and see you on my next post!

Fin

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency