MY ENCOUNTER WITH AN UBER DRIVER

image.png
source

Yesterday I entered an Uber while going to see my girlfriend at her office. We got into an interesting conversation while on the trip about his life and career, which I want to share.

So the Uber driver was formerly a principal at a High School where he earned around $200. It seemed like a lot of money to him then and the proprietor of the school.

While working as the school administrator he had little or no time for himself and his kids. He had to succumb to the whims and caprices of the school proprietor who was bent on milking him as much as he could.

During his time at the school, he saved enough to acquire a vehicle that he used for commercial purposes. It was lucrative at first until the driver started messing with his car.

The driver continued to mismanage his car. It got to a point where he had to withdraw his vehicle from the driver in order to sell it because it wasn't in great condition. However, he did something that changed his mind.

Before selling his vehicle he decided to go on a few trips as an Uber driver. That day he returned home with about $50 which was quite a lot of his salary. He went on another trip the following day and made something similar. At the end of the week, he made double his salary.

The man quit his job. He is now a full-time Uber driver and earns more than most people who have corporate jobs in this part of the world. Plus he has his freedom. He spends more time with his family and chooses when to work.

I found his story quite inspiring (and don't be surprised if you see me driving people around). You won't expect that a can driver would be earning that much. They are even looked down on which is quite hilarious because these people are actually cashing out big time!

My Uber driver admitted that at first, he was skeptical about running the business himself. He felt it was below his status but his wife nudged him further and they are in a better financial situation today.

I was happy that he was able to get out of the rat race many find themselves in this part of the world. I am glad he found his freedom. He might not be the richest but he is in a better position than he would have dreamt of a couple of years ago.

His story reminds me a little about myself and how I discovered hive. I knew this was it for me--my target out of the rat race and I am grateful that I seized the opportunity.

Hive is not devoid of most of the rubbish that exists within the corporate sphere but you have the option of choosing where you invest your time and resources, and where they are duly compensated for.

The moral of today's story is that opportunities don't always come in ways we expect. However, if we are sensitive enough we will spot them, even when they are wrapped in strange boxes.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency