DIY Desk Caddy

PSX_20210728_215509.jpg

What do you do with the styrofoam or polystyrene that's used to protect appliances and fragile goods you purchase?

Personally, I hate styrofoam and try to avoid using it at all possible, but every now and then I will acquire some in purchased goods, mainly appliances.
Styrofoam is not biodegradable, so even though some places recycle plastics, it is far more costly to recycle styrofoam, so proper disposal is sometimes not done.
Knowing that, I try to retain the styrofoam for future up-cycling, because it's highly durable and strong, hence the reason it's used to protect heavy and fragile goods in the first place.


My mood is easily influenced by my environment, so I like to keep my surroundings tidy, and install things in a "home".
For the past few months, I've had to adjust and create office and work stations in my tiny narrowboat, and I interchange the areas from time to time. However, there was one thing that I needed to make transfers smoother -- a little Carry Desk Caddy.

Simple Craft Idea/DIY Desk Caddy / Organiser

  • Step One

PSX_20210728_215915.jpg


Step Two

Styrofoam is porous, so I used some paint to coat and protect it before applying the fabric. This step is optional.

  • Using a small brush, apply acrylic paint over the surface areas that will not be covered with fabric.

PSX_20210728_204126.jpg


Step Three

Patch Work Design

Multiple colours are being used to create a patchwork design, with colours that are perfect for summertime and for brightening up any room or work station.

  • Create your own colour scheme and design.
  • Place Fabric against Styrofoam
  • Measure and trace the area where fabric will be placed

PSX_20210728_204053.jpg

PSX_20210728_220659.jpg

  • Insert common pins, one inch apart, to attach the felt fabric to the styrofoam.
  • Ensure that pins are inserted inside the foam, and that none of the pins are sticking out on the inside; for safety reasons, as pins could cause injury otherwise.

PSX_20210728_221449.jpg

Finished Craft

Total coincidence: My day-bed cover and my desk caddy look like they were made together.
The fact is that I discovered some rectangular felt fabric pieces, and an excessive amount of common pins in my storage left in the Uk over seven years ago. The throw is a sentimental souvenir from Zanzibar that my husband @scubahead bought while living there.

PSX_20210728_205116.jpg

PSX_20210728_205252.jpg

This DIY Desk Caddy is suitable for persons working from home, a great project for kids on school holidays or back-to-school items that could save money.

Art and Craft is a great family bonding exercise which teaches everyone to reuse, recycle and reduce the practice of single use plastics and other materials.

Similar projects can be done using this same principle, and for other materials, I'd advise using glue if more suited. Also, old clothes such as t-shirts can be cut up and recycled for projects around the house.

PSX_20210728_210057.jpg

I love this caddy because it matches every corner of my boat decor, and makes it easier and tidier for me to store and carry.

It holds my mouse, usb cords, scrap paper, reading glasses, usb fan, and power bank, and scissors.

PSX_20210728_205726.jpg


My DIY Up-cycled Styrofoam Desk Organiser / Caddy


PSX_20210728_205702.jpg


I hope this post inspires you to save and design something useful around the house next time you purchase an item packed with styrofoam. Also, if you do create items, please share your designs and creations in the comments section below, and also let me know other deeds you do that help to protect the environment.

Thank you for stopping by ;)




IMG_20210801_193213.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency