#BeerSaturday - Three Australian Craft Bers

Buying present for people who are 'really' into something is difficult. My wife workmates now she likes craft beer, so wanted to send her some for her recent birthday, but what to send is difficult.

Thankfully in Australia we have a bit of guide if you are looking for good Craft beers. Each year there is a poll which is run called The Hottest 100 Craft beers (a take-off of a local radio station Hottest 100 songs of the year) In this poll around 40,000 people each vote for their top 5 Australian independent craft beers - Full results are here

But back to my Wide's workmates - they deceived to use this list and buy her a beer for every year she's been alive so we have a number of beers in our house (I'm not revealing how many, that would be rude, but it's somewhere between legal drinking age of 18 and 99) so we get a chance to drink some of them....

image.png

Let's start with Capital who had a number of beers in the competition and no in the box sitting in a cupbaord in our house. Capital is a brewery I know very little about other than saying they are in Canberra which is the Capital of Australia and this beer is supposedly a NEIPA and the 73rd best beer in Australia. It's not quite either of those things, It's a really good beer, it's not really like a true NEIPA, not quite hazy enough it’s like a session NEIPA, it’s fruity and pleasant but isn’t a particularly hoppy, or juicy but it is very refreshing and easy to drink. I can absolutely see why people would have voted for it.

image.png

Dainton Plum Imperial Pastry Sour

This is a brewery I know a lot about. In fact in a previous life I interviewed Dan Dainton (the head brewer and owner) for a magazine I used to write for at a brewery he used to brew for before this one. Make sense? probably not. Dainton are based in the outer East of Melbourne. I have a bit of a problem with them - they produce a lot of different beers, a lot of their beers are gimmicky - they always sound like they will be amazing but they are pretty hit and miss. This one is those. It actually didn't poll in the Hottest 100 although Dainton had a number of entrants but I'm sure it looked interesting so they choose it. What the hell is a Plum flavoured, imperial, pastry, sour? anyway. Not sure I like this one, it’s favours are all over the shop it’s like dried Chinese plums candy if you have ever tasted that, it kind of sweet and tangy and a little be fermented all at the same time, it’s like 6 beer mashed into one and I’m not sure it works

image.png

After the disappointment of the Dainton beer I had to go back to something I knew was going to be good. So I grabbed this Russet Red IPA from Black Dog out of the fridge. This is another brewery and Brewer I know well. The Brewer and owner's name is James Booth and they are based on a lovely farm in Taminick about a 3 hour drive outside of Melbourne. I'm not really sure how I meet James, I think it was at a pub somewhere maybe but he is a lovely guy and I've been up to the farm to visit a couple of times and he produces great beers.

This beer has a Red IPA so it has a nice bit of nice sweetness with the malt backbone maybe toffee and there is a fruitiness from the hop and gentle carbonation hides it’s 7% well. A classic.

This little trip into the Aussie beer craft beer world is part of #beersaturday by @detlev - if you check out the main post here you can read about beer from all over the world - which is pretty interesting. You can also add your story and WIN BEER and other stuff. So do it

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency