Hot Carolina Days Call for Cold Brews

IMG_20210529_153914341_HDR (2).jpg

An old tobacco warehouse and processing plant in Winston-Salem, North Carolina is converted into the Incendiary Brewing Company.

The odd structure in the foreground is part of an old elevated train track that at one time ran through the heart of the industrial complex taking freshly rolled Winston and Salem brand cigarettes to markets across the country.

The factory has laid fallow for decades but as of late is seeing new life with apartments, shops and office space. More importantly one of Winston-Salem's craft breweries has found a home.

IMG_20210529_153736478_MP (2).jpg

My son had some sort of IPA, and y'all probably know I tend to avoid IPAs, just not really my thing.

IMG_20210529_153736478_MP (2).jpg

I had an amber lager called Vienna Lager. Since I was out and about I did not really get a good look at the board to tell you much about the beer, other than it was cold, refreshing, somewhat sweet with a nice malty finish.

I liked it so much that I had another round.

Some unfinished business from last weeks #beersaturday post.

At the end of my blogs on beer, I like to ask a trivia question and the first person who answers correctly gets a BEER token.

Last week I featured a beer from Tennessee.
IMG_20210529_165128940.jpg
The question was:
WHAT WAR WAS IT THAT TENNESSEE EARNED THE NICKNAME "THE VOLUNTEER STATE"?

Answer: The Mexican-American War.

The story goes like this, during the War for Texas Independence many Tennesseans, who had immigrated to Mexico had been killed during the fighting and many others had been executed under the orders of General Santa Anna. So when America went to war against General Santa Anna, 100 thousand Tennesseans volunteered to fight. Blood feuds are a real thing.

So this week's trivia question for a BEER token to the first correct answer is:

NAME THE COMPANY THAT MAKES WINSTON AND SALEM CIGARETTES.

Peace out and stay cool with a refreshing beer.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency