#beersaturday week 211 - The battle lines have been drawn!

Hide the sharp objects and remove the chairs because tonight could get messy!

Tonight is the night when England play Italy in the Euro Cup final and the fact that we’ve arrived at this point is something quite special for those in my household.

I’m as English as a Yorkshire pudding and while I may not be the biggest football fan in the world I’ve certainly been seduced by the way this particular tournament has transpired. What makes this tournament even more special for me is the team we are facing off against, Italy.

My girlfriend is as Italian as Pavarotti riding on a Vespa with a double scoop gelato ice cream in each hand. Unfortunately for me, not only is she Italian but she also Roman, and anyone who’s ever met anyone from Rome will know they are as arrogant as they are patriotic. This makes the prospect of losing the match a fate worse than that of a mafia henchmen.

557EA6E9-DD1E-4FE3-A41B-1243CE79DAE0.jpeg

So, I wait in nervous anticipation for the whistle to blow and the match get underway. On one side of our living room there will be Myself and my girlfriend’s son with our faces painted in the St George’s cross, and on the other side of the sofa there will be my other half and her 2 daughters, all painted up in the red, white and green of Italy. We will all be cheering our teams successes, and with equal gusto we will no doubt be celebrating the oppositions mistakes (all in good spirit, of course).

87AC8B36-4528-4C2E-BE00-F5B9A17ED751.jpeg

I’m not sure who the dogs are supporting but I’m sure they’ll enjoy the show…

8F86E11E-F672-4630-B051-249EDAD2F332.jpeg

In-keeping with our national customs, the Italians will be bringing the food while the English(Me) will be supplying and enjoying the beer!

D9A37327-7394-43B8-B012-A8124A50251F.jpeg

Of course I’ve saved my favourite beer(that’s the double d’oh) for this special occasion and hopefully it will be one heck of a lucky beer!

Whatever happens and whoever wins, it’s going to one fun packed night!

95063744-D247-4B46-A636-8B5ABEFAD200.jpeg

Happy #beersaturday to you all! And COME ON ENGLAND!!!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency