The biggest bottle of whiskey I've seen

Husband mainly drinks scotch, so apart from Jameson, this is the first time I've come across another Irish whiskey. This bottle of Bushmills Irish whiskey looks like a normal bottle of whisky. Yes, and no. Yes, because Bushmills is the world’s oldest licensed whiskey distillery. Source
20240210_165559.jpg

And no, because look at the size of this bottle! This must be the biggest bottle of whiskey I've seen! It's 4.5 liters compared to the normal 700ml bottle. This bottle belongs to my niece @kathrynkw, and in case you're wondering, no she isn't an alcoholic! This was gifted to her.
IMG-20240210-WA0048.jpg

This weekend I went to Kathryn's for Lunar New Year dinner, she posted about it here. Lobster and roast duck are two of my most favourite dishes. They were divine, very fitting for a new year dinner.
20240210_145125.jpg

Anyway, back to the whiskey. After dinner hubby was served a dram of whiskey because Kathryn knows he likes a little drink after dinner. Except this little drink came in a massive bottle. When she got it out, I thought what the heck? I was so worried when I held it because it's so heavy, I was worried I might drop it. And just for fun, I placed a bottle of normal size bottle next to it for comparison purposes. If you didn't know, you'd think the normal size bottle on the left is a miniature bottle. How crazy is that! Even Kathryn's son came to have a nose. Just joking!! He just happened to be playing in the kitchen and I figured it would be even more fun to compare this little guy against the big bottle.
20240210_165759.jpg

As I said, hubby is more of a scotch drinker but he quite liked the Bushmills. It was a tad on the sweet side for him, but he didn't mind that. And it was very smooth, exactly as it said on the bottle, smooth and mellow. I tasted two little sips, the first straight from the bottle, and there was a hint of chocolate. Or it could have been vanilla, as described by the official tasting notes, due to this triple distilled whiskey being stored in cherry and bourbon casks. My second sip was after hubs added a few drops of water to it. The texture was distinctively different, much smoother.
20240210_170006.jpg

I think hubs and his drinking buddies ie my brother in laws may have a new joiner to their after dinner drinking gatherings now. Although, personally I don't drink whisky, I think it's nice to add a feminine touch to things, especially since whisky still seems to be quite a male dominated circle.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
39 Comments
Ecency