A Phenomenal Mosaic Mural [PhotoChain Challenge - 42th Edition]

Good night, friends!

This is my entry for the PhotoChain Challenge - 42th Edition hosted by @davidesimoncini. The keywords for this week are Shoes and Mural, which were chosen by the previous winners of the challenge: @pardinus and @ainie.kashif.

My personal keyword for this week is Art.

p1050606_zoom.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

I saw this excellent mural while I was roaming the streets of Vienna, while trying to find the way to my hotel. From the distance I initially thought it was a Graffiti mural and I approached it to take some photos.

When I got closer I realised it was something else - a Mosaic Mural. And what a great one it is! 🤗

The first image is a crop from the following photo:

p1050606.resized.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

Next, I took some close up shots of the main parts of the mural. Just take a look at the incredible details of this bagpipe player.

p1050611.resized.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

The details are really great, from the hat to the shoes. What a fantastic piece of art, isn't it?

The other 3 characters in the mural were equally amazing. It seems like a scene of a woman handing out a few spare change to a priest... At least, I'm assuming he's a priest because of his clothes, hair and beard style. He reminds me of a Franciscan Priest.

p1050613.resized.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

The work on the dresses is very good but the heads and faces take this piece to another level. 😊

To the right side of the mural there is a reference to a lady (Frau Kärcher). I searched a bit on Google but came out empty handed, as I only saw a small reference in a Deutsche written page.

p1050616.resized.jpg

Open Full Sized Photo In New Window

I have no idea of who this Kärcher woman is... and if she was important or remarkable in any way. But I assume she was, since the Street was named after her: Kärchergasse.

I hope you enjoyed this small article and my photos! 😊


LocationVienna - Austria
CameraPanasonic Lumix DC-TZ90
Photos4 (Edited with GIMP)

If you wish to enter the contest, the announcement link is here:
PhotoChain Challenge - 42th Edition.


trincowski_banner.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency