Street Art #326 Waxhead, Montreal

If you're a loyal reader of the Street Art series 😀, you've already seen this artist's work in previous posts. Since 2013, Waxhead, Montreal based street-artist, likes to adorn the walls of the city but also the doors as I discovered in differents photos taken last year.

465  Waxhead sur Rachel.jpg

With his characters, Waxheadseems to want to protect the entrances of some buildings (in an alley near Saint Denis Street).

WHERE

line_grey.jpg

Everywhere but especially on Le Plateau, Montreal, Canada.

Position on Google Maps

464  Waxhead sur Rachel.jpg

WHO

line_grey.jpg

Born in Toronto, Waxhead is street-artist, painter, and creature creator (as he says) now based in Montreal since 2012. His style is quite unique, very coloured and detailed. His nickname comes from when he painted when he was young a dripping head on his school books, Waxhead was born. You often find his works mixed with those of Cryote on many walls, doors in Montreal.

line_hive.jpg

On Clark Street

On Saint Dominique Street

line_hive.jpg

His style and his characters are very easily identifiable and as he always signs his works, it's all the more easy to recognize them. I like that 😀

216  Waxhead sur St Laurent.jpg

On Saint Laurent Boulevard

Often, it seems that shopkeepers ask him to decorate their door (when they're closed, better than black or grey door) because the characters reflect what the store is selling, For example, for this vegan bakery Sophie Sucré :

735  Wxhead sur Pins Sophie Sucrée.jpg

But since the bakery has moved, I'm wondering if the door is still there.

line_hive.jpg

On Saint Dominique Street

Right next door

line_hive.jpg

"My art is not really about the person behind it. It’s about the art itself. I’m trying to create my own world removed from me. I don’t see myself as a part of the picture, but as the creator of it. That’s why I don’t show myself. I’m just the creator of these creatures who pop everywhere. I think it’s fun to stay anonymous." Interview during Mural Festival - (source)

line_hive.jpg

On Napoleon Street

I don't remember where 😀

line_hive.jpg

WHEN

line_grey.jpg

  • 2019/2020.

Sources

line_grey.jpg

Waxhead's works at Station 16

Instagram :
Waxhead

My Previous Posts about Street Art

line_grey.jpg

#325 Laurence Belanger
#324 Denial, Mort & Jamie Janx
#323 Hoar, Jest... (UP 2020)
#322 H2K & LTG (UP 2020)
#321 Lost Claws, Montreal
#320 Stare, Montreal

Bonus Pics

line_grey.jpg

Quick drawing on a door on Saint Laurent Boulevard

Another drawing On Saint Dominique Street

line_hive.jpg

Have a great day and open your eyes, Street Art is hiding anywhere (don't forget to post your finds on the Street Art Community)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency