Thoughtful daily post Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

Thoughtful daily post Beauty is in the eye of the beholder

As part of the Dreemport initiative @dreemsteem selects a challenge each week for members to join if they so wish, and this week the challenge is the Thoughtful Daily Post created and supported by @wesphilbin A person I have known for quite a while on Hive, and one who is very active in many communities, Let me explain the concept in his own words
“The tag #thoughtfuldailypost can be applied to any post that speaks of positivity, uplifting topics, inspiration, reflection (especially self-reflection), deep musings about our human nature, spiritual aspects, and other philosophical inclinations. Despite the word "daily" in the tag, it is not necessary to write a post every day to participate — a single post of a thoughtful nature is welcome any time! We need more positivity and thoughtfulness in the world, now more than ever!”

Now if I have bene friends with Wes for a long while you may ask why is this the first time I join this challenge, and the answer is, I am quite happy with sharing mmy photos in posts and talking about them a little, but I do not consider myself a write which I felt was needed for this challenge, but I decided to give it a go at least once.

Let me start with a photo, because thats what I do


22 Thoughtful post tuesday-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 45mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger


These is a Photo of a piece of Street art in Downtown New Bedford, and I thought it fitting as a lead in to what will be my Thoughtful part of this post, which I still don't know what exactly I am going to say so it may be short and sweet or a lot of waffling and no doubt hard to read, but let me stop procrastinating and get started.

Now perhaps because I have travelled a lot in my career and have seen many places with wonderful history and beauty, and on the converse I have been to countries after war, Genocide, natural disasters etc etc which perhaps gives me a different perspective on things than some people.

But what I notice is and I am not saying this applies to everyone, because surely it doesn't, but I have found often in first world, well off countries, people are less appreciative of what they have, and one often hears a lot of I wish.... such as I wish I had faster Wifi
or a lot of if only, such as if only I had such and such life would be so much better.
I am sure many of you reading this will know what I am talking about and may not have said it but you have heard it.

But what I have found and still remember so many incidents of it so clearly today is the complete opposite I have seen in many places.

Such as In Bosnia after the war a visit to small village I met a family, the kids were playing with sticks on the road, smiling giggling and having such fun, the father was doing repairs to damage to their house in an area that had been ravaged by fighting, but I did not hear one I wish or if only,, he was whats done is done, we will move forward and rebuild and make the most of what we have.
I have seen similar situations and noticed the same positive attitude in many Places to many to list but a couple that come to mind as I write this are East Timor and Rwanda, where people focus not on what they don't have but on what they have and make the most of it with smiles and such a positive attitude.

So how does that tie to my title of Beauty is in the eye of the beholder, well for me its that in all depends on how one choose to look at things, even in the worst of times if one looks with the right attitude one can find beauty and positivity in their life if they so choose to do.

So to end I guess I am saying appreciate what you have and dont focus on what you wish you had.

OK thats the end of my thoughtful part of the post, I hope it make sense to some who read it and didn't make too many feel sleepy, but now I will get back to what I am more comfortable doing sharing photos and less writing

with some more street art in the same area as the first one


22 Thoughtful post tuesday-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger


These are on a wall downtown, they clearly have bene there a while but are still cool to see


22 Thoughtful post tuesday-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 38mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 400
Click here to view larger


I thought it was cool how the weed was growing at the base of this flower painted on the wall


22 Thoughtful post tuesday-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 35mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 6400
Click here to view larger



22 Thoughtful post tuesday.jpg

Sony A7iii 30mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 500
Click here to view larger


22 Thoughtful post tuesday-6.jpg

And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.634874 lat -70.925406 long Downtown New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
76 Comments
Ecency