You picked the wrong spot, Fly

Mammillaria Bombycina 2021 dead fly 1.jpg

Once in a while I get to pick some dead bodies from between the spines of my cacti. Flies and wasps mostly. I think once I found a spider too. I don't know how they manage to get so tangled there and be stuck for good.

I usually don't shoot them, though now I think it would be a cool collection to have ;)

Mammillaria Bombycina 2021 dead fly 2.jpg

This Mammillaria bombycina was in bloom at that time and I wanted to get some macro shots of the flowers. I turned it round and there it was.
A dry corpse of a fly.

This cactus have lots of those little white thorns closer o the body and quite large, dark hooks for the extra protection. Those cooks mean business if you try to touch them. They will attack to anything also skin. And even though it is still not the meanest of the cacti I have (I call a different mammillaria "The Killer" for a reason) I wasn't the first time I found dead insect in it.

Mammillaria Bombycina 2021 dead fly 3.jpg

The flowers are nice :)

Mammillaria Bombycina winter bloom 6.jpg

And so that the post is not completely creepy here is another, harmless Mammilaria matudae with almost a perfect circle of flowers I shot in spring. The flowers don't last very long, just a couple of days, but new ones keep popping and the ring moves towards the top until it reaches the new growth that will bloom next year.

mammillaria matudae 2021 1.jpg

This one is quite touchable.

mammillaria matudae 2021 2.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

cactus banner.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
20 Comments
Ecency