Blooming cactus - Notocactus mueller-melchersii

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 2.jpg

It's finally here!
I was wondering if it would open both flowers in the same time and he did. Three years of trying not to kill it and those are the effects :)

Notocactus mueller-melchersii


This cactus has a whole bunch of other names that I will not even try to remember. This is how I got it and it will stay this way :) I noticed that Notocatus is often called Parodia. Why? I have no idea.

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 3.jpg

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 1.jpg

This one is native to Brazil and Uruguay. It is a solitary cactus that can be propagated though seeds, rarely though offshoots. And let me tell you - they made sure the seeds grow easily and fast. Also each pod produces a hundreds of them! A nice way to make sure something actually grows.

The spines are short but very sturdy and sharp. I find it very pretty how they are placed on the cactus - very even and symmetrical.

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 5.jpg

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 6.jpg

And now the flowers... oh look at them! They are Huge!
I just wish I had more sun so they would open fully. I took the photos anyway in case the sun didn't come and flowers would fade. It's the only 2 I get this year from this one.

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 9.jpg

The flowers is light yellow and the petals are so delicate to the touch and almost translucent.
And there is a bonus - they have a fragrance! Which I never noticed on any of the blooming cacti I own. They smell like those little, wild daisies. Very nice fragrance. Not a strong one. I actually had to stick my nose inside the flower (my furry assistant is on strike).

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 4.jpg

With roomies:

Notocactus mueller-melchersii flower 2021 8.jpg

Here is how it looked like a few weeks ago full post:

Notocactus mueller-melchersii buds 2021 1.jpg

@mipiano here is your Elmo cactus :)

My other blooming cacti:

Click on the image to view full post.


Chamaecereus hybrid

Sulcorebutia Canigueralii

Mammillaria camptotricha

Mammillaria Glassii

Gymnocalycium baldianum
image.png
Mediolobivia mudanensis

Lobivia Arachnacantha

Rebutia hybrid

Mammillaria Bombycina

Mammillaria Gracilis Snowcap

Mammillaria haageana

Mammillaria backebergiana

Chamaecereus silvestrii

Mammillaria prolifera

Rebutia Fabrisii var. Aureiflora

Lobivia Wrightiana
image.png
Aylostera Flavistyla FR756

Parodia concinna

Mammillaria Copper King
image.png
Gymnocalycium Bruchii

Mammillaria backebergiana

Gymnocalycium damsii

Echinopsis subdenudata
image.png
Rhipsalis pilocarpa
image.png
Mammillaria Prolifera
image.png
Lobivia arachnacantha v. vallegrandensis
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens
image.png
Mammillaria magnimamma
image.png
Sulcorebutia langerii
image.png
Sulcorebutia frankiana
image.png
Chamaelobivia no ID
image.png
Rebutia Albiflora
image.png
Mediolobivia atrovirens var. ritteri
image.png
Gymnocalycium damsii var. tucavocense
image.png
Notocactus Ottonis
image.png
Gymnocalycium Friedrichii
image.png
Turbinicarpus Viereckii
image.png
Rebutia neocumingii
image.png
Notocactus Rubrigemmatus
image.png
Lobivia no ID
image.png
Sulcorebutia albissima

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency