Cool details on a walk around the Historic District, downtown New Bedford

Cool details on a walk around the Historic District, downtown New Bedford

I took a walk around the historic district in downtown New Bedford last week and I shared some shots in my Wednesday walk post and this post kind of continues on from that with some things I spotted on that walk that caught my eye.

Starting with this clock on the Union Square office center, very similar from memory to a couple of similar ones I saw on my walks around NYC, clocks and lamps with the green patina always catch my eyes on walks


cool details downtown-5.jpg

Sony A7iii 75mm F8 1/125 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Then I came across this art piece outside the Hastings Keith Federal Building, which I fould quite interesting and got a few shots from different angles


cool details downtown-3.jpg

Sony A7iii 57mm F8 1/250 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


Here is a shot also showing the building to give a sense of scale, or perhaps the first shot of it with the cars in the background does that better, I have seen on Farcebook it called various things, the octopus, the Urchin and I was intrigues what it was and who made it after some google searching I found out it is called

it is a sea flower. and created by James Surls, it was installed in front of the federal building in 1978 and was intended to be in keeping with the sea theme of the New England fishing community

I did not see the plaque for it when I took these shots, not sure if I missed seeing it or it sno longer there, but from online I found the plaque says

The sculpture’s lively organic form appears to float above the entry plaza...although monumental in size, the sculpture retains a delicate energy

Now I do find it pretty cool, but I am not sure I would call this sculpture delicate myself.

Now its been there since 1978, so some of you young folks reading this may think it is old, but please refrain from saying that and making me feel even older LOL


cool details downtown.jpg

Sony A7iii 22mm F8 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And to finish off a cool street lamp I came across


cool details downtown-2.jpg

Sony A7iii 52mm F8 1/400 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger



cool details downtown-4.jpg

Sony A7iii 69mm F8 1/80 Sec ISO 100
Click here to view larger


And that’s all folks


unless stated otherwise all photos used in my posts are taken and owned by myself, if you wish to use any of my images please contact me.



TEAMUSA JJ hive.jpg

TeamUSA is a Community for and supporting those from of in the United States, and now is in the process of rebuilding stronger than ever join us on Discord


!pinmapple 41.635666 lat -70.933753 long downtown New Bedford MA d3scr

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
66 Comments
Ecency