Wish you were here - Armeria maritima

Armeria maritima sea thrift pink 4.jpg

I have probably beat all possible records with this plant.
I am not sure if I managed to keep it a live for 3 weeks :p
No, I am not proud. It was a pretty one after all and I already imagined now nice it would look in bigger pot all green and bushy.
And then I killed it!

Armeria maritima


Armeria maritima sea thrift pink 5.jpg

Armeria maritima sea thrift pink 1.jpg

It is also called Sea Thrift and it is a common plant. I remember having it in a harden as a kid. A row of nice pink blooms. That's why now I wanted one for myself.

It is a perennial plant that likes fast draining soil and can be found close to the coastline. I saw bigger, white ones growing here. But not the pink ones.

Armeria maritima sea thrift pink 7.jpgArmeria maritima sea thrift pink 8.jpg

It is also supposed to be drought tolerant...
Bullshit!
I had to water it every two days otherwise it would all go limp. And it wasn't even that hot yet!
So for the short period of time it looked nice, and then I was busy and I forgot and that was it.

Which only proves that cacti rocks!

Armeria maritima sea thrift pink 3.jpg

She even had some little passengers that took a good care of :p

Armeria maritima sea thrift pink 6.jpg

Armeria maritima sea thrift pink 2.jpg


Bonus: matching song :)
Talking Heads - Psycho Killer
year 1977

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency