There is always a first time.

long exp seixal bay 2.jpg
ƒ/3.5, 4s, 18mm, ISO100

There is so many photography techniques and tricks I still want to try. Nothing fancy most of the times. But new to me.
And then I go out and I stick to the things I know and forget about all the other things.

Long Exposure was on that list for a very... very long time! I read about it, looked at photographs, checked my camera settings and I finally did it!

long exp seixal bay 3.jpg
ƒ/5.6, 4s, 55mm, ISO125

I didn't plan it, but the weather was perfect. The early night, cloudy sky, calm water and all the lights reflecting. It all just screamed at me. I even took a different lens (Nikkor 18-55) with me for a walk.

I had no more excuses.
I had to do it!

long exp seixal bay 5.jpg
ƒ/5.6, 4s, 55mm, ISO125

There is probably a lot of things I should have done differently. But it was the very first time I tried long exposure and I am so freaking proud :D

long exp seixal bay 1.jpg
ƒ/3.5, 4s, 18mm, ISO100

I had no tripod with me so I had to use a little wall to keep my camera still. It did the job, though I didn't have much freedom to move it up or down.

Few failed shots and I think I got the settings that worked.

long exp seixal bay 7.jpg
ƒ/3.5, 4s, 18mm, ISO200

long exp seixal bay 4.jpg
ƒ/5.6, 4s, 55mm, ISO250

long exp seixal bay 6.jpg
ƒ/5.6, 4s, 55mm, ISO200

In a different direction there was a los less lights and the bay is much wider. I was trying to catch those few white boats there. As if they were trapped in the middle of the storm.

And the night was so nice and calm.

long exp seixal bay 8.jpg
ƒ/3.5, 3s, 18mm, ISO640

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Nikkor 18-55mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
51 Comments
Ecency