Mean yellow beauties

Gorse bush ulex buds 2.jpg

Gorse bush (or Ulex is you wish) is an evil plant. This bush looks like a messy pile of very sharp thorns! It looks like it doesn't even have any leaves, just thorn after thorn along the stem.

Many times I tried to walk between them to get to some spot, but it is only up to them if they let you. Better forget it or go around. They can grow to almost a human height all the branches are so thick and tangled it is impossible to pass.

Gorse bush ulex buds 5.jpg

But when they bloom...
Boy oh boy.
All the nasty mess turns to a yellow cloud. Millions of very intense yellow flowers pop from between the thorns. They are totally loved by bees and other insects and when they are in full bloom you can hear all the buzzing round.

Fun fact: the flowers are edible :)

Gorse bush ulex buds 1.jpg

I shot those in early spring when most of the buds didn't open yet. All the maturing buds were almost shining in the sun.

Gorse bush ulex buds 3.jpg

Gorse bush ulex buds 7.jpg

I like when my Sigma catches those nice bokeh bubbles. She is pretty good at that I just don't often pay attention to this. Just hope for some nice surprise at home.

Gorse bush ulex buds 8.jpg

Gorse bush ulex buds 10.jpg

Gorse bush ulex buds 6.jpg

I didn't notice before that the buds have those tiny spots. Looks like some darker hair on the outer petals. When the flower opens they are basically invisible.

Gorse bush ulex buds 4.jpg

And one little bugger as a bonus. Looks like a trip. I freaking hate trips! Little beasts love my orchids...

Gorse bush ulex buds 9.jpg

»«
Shot with Nikon D5500 + Sigma 105mm lens
All photos and text are my own.



separator flowers.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency