Two Sides of the Same Coin

Title Two Sides of the Same Coin.jpgMade using an image by anncapictures from Pixabay

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ.png

This is my answer to the biweekly question from @abundance.tribe which asks... What story do you need to stop telling yourself? And what story do you wish to begin, so that you can create the life you wish! Please follow the link above to check out their post and find out how to take part.

I decided to answer this question in the form of two linked poems. Both of these poems are written as ballads, exploring themes around how we influence our own reality by the stories we tell ourselves. I don't want to elaborate much further as hopefully the poems will capture this much better than I ever could though prose.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ.png

Story of Suffering.jpg
Made using an image by Alexas_Fotos from Pixabay

I tell myself a story,
each time I wake from sleep,
an aching allegory
of sickness running deep.

I tell myself a tale,
in the fading of the day,
of symptoms making a jail
of me and acid rain that flays.

A tale I choose to tell,
but then in blessed stillness,
I hear the ringing of a bell
and see it is only illness.

Mythic Story.jpg
Made using an image by Dieter_G from Pixabay

I read a mythic story,
a book bound in living skin;
a buzzard soars bathed in glory
mirrored in Loch Síleann.

In this ancient fable
a wanderer finds a trail,
swaddled in fur of sable
he passes through a vale,

where crimson Oak whisper
and leaves kiss mossy knolls,
crisp beneath his feet in fissures
a thousand sparks of soul.

The wanderer in an endless now
both buzzard and roughshod man,
surrenders to the murmuring boughs,
and the end that just began.

Copyrightbanner.png

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ.png

All images used in this post are modified from creative commons license sources, credited beneath the image. If you have enjoyed this poem, please check out my homepage @raj808 for similar creative content. Thank you.

FxX5caie56yqUbvo2DTJv1i6qm8z4ixTabBTrjodFyZCPuFbZDncXQB89jd6mZkWM2QSrq2ahH2DhyyNE1pjQLgqmXzcj4F36iojmAUYgMVQ.png

Footer_raj808.png

X37EMQ9WSwsLaUVnWj5uXRHwjwzR6KfScsHyS24twkWHXTmg7HHYV2YvZaEvhZ3QfhgPNA64jreDpxY7s5pv5QF7fAW8668sSqjc2.png

Click banner to visit the community page

Find us on twitter by clicking the banner above.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency