Final days in Egypt, visiting Coptic Cairo

image.png


During the last few days of my visit back home, to Egypt, it was a real treat having my dear nephews (both in their twenties) acting as tour guides/showing my wife and I around.

Both studied architecture and it was, especially, sweet to see how knowledgeable and accommodating they were, given that the last time I had seen them was 12 years ago, when they were mere children!

By way of background, Coptic Cairo is part of Old Cairo and home to beautiful Coptic churches and historical sites. Currently, only around 5% of the population in Muslim-majority Egypt is Christian, but this was not always so.

Coptic Egyptians are, in fact, more connected to the Ancient Egyptians and in Christian tradition, it's believed that the Holy Family visited and stayed at Saints Sergius and Bacchus Church.

Both before and during the Islamic era, Coptic Cairo was a center for Christianity, with most of its churches built after the Muslim conquest of Egypt (7th century).

Come and join us for a small tour:


image.png


Even though I was raised Muslim, my wife is Christian and I'm susceptible to the wisdom of the Desert Fathers and Catholic mystics.

On the way back home in the evening, I had a spiritual conversation with a Coptic cab driver that brought tears ...


image.png


Here I am posing with The Boys in the intricate entrance of one of the churches.


image.png


image.png


Happy to say that this sort of elaborate woodwork can still be found in modern Egypt:


image.png


image.png


image.png


After this educational and sensory feast, my wife and I were invited to a memorable fish dinner with my former boss --when I worked at the United Nations in Egypt, for nearly a decade.


image.png


image.png


My former boss, and current friend, was born in Alexandria, by the sea, and took great care in picking the fish himself.


image.png


It was truly heart-warming to visit with him, again, after all these years. And being the jovial and affectionate soul he is, he made my wife feel very welcome, too.


image.png


If you enjoyed this virtual tour, I think you'll also appreciate My Dinner Boat Down the Nile River in Cairo -- with a Bellydancer


image.png


And My Day at the Egyptian Museum--with Mummies


image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency