Random thoughts on Japan and community

I have enjoted these “Random thoughts” posts where I just share random ideas and experiences in a short numbered paragraph. It helps me from overexplaining. There is a time and place for the long essays but not everything needs to be one and my thoughts tend to weave together a lot of concepts so it comes very natural to me.

Then any idea I want to expand on, I can later as its own post.

Lets try it now and see what comes out.

IMG_6200.png

1
I was finally given a 3 year visa. This is kind of a big deal, as not getting one was the main reason I left Japan after 5 years of 1 year visas the first time around and the main reason I wasn’t sure if I wanted to stay this time around. In the end, it didn’t really matter what my passport or work history or length of time in Japan was. All that mattered was getting out of the lowest tax bracket. Now I am taxed to hell and Japan wants to keep me 🤣 go figure.

I will be able to apply for permanent residency right away if they change it to a 5 year visa next time.

2
Although this is huge news for me, I feel very reluctant to tell people and I am not sure why. I feel like I waited 16 (with a 6 year hiatus from Japan in between) years for this and I want to keep it to myself for a little while and just enjoy it by myself. I am forcing myself to say something right now simply because its on my mind and I want to explore my thoughts.

3
I just wrote out a whole post complaining anout the Japaneae economy and unwillingness to populate the beautiful countryside and instead just complain about how things are getting worse and worse but I don’t want to complain so I deleted 10 paragraphs and resolved to revist this topic when i felt more inspired to do contribute something positive.

4
I do think populating the countryside (not bulldozing it and turning it into suburbs) and encouraging local business is a far more sustainable plan than just relying on tourism for everything but that takes individuals willing to do such things. If no one wants to work on it, I will, as soon as I am able.

5
I see a lot of froeigners arguing with each other about Japan on twitter. You have the “i am holier than thou because I speak SUCH good Japanese” people and the “everywhere should be like where I am from” people and the “You shouldn’t criticize another culture even if it sucks” people and the “Criticize everything you want but never criticize Japan people”. Boring! 😆. I actively avoid talking about Japan there because those conversations aren’t interesting to me. If I bring up Japan i want to hear what Japanese people think and I will respect their opinions but not hold them above my own.

6
I didn’t come here because of anime and games but I have to admit I’ve been converted. It didn’t hurt that I loved games as a kid but since it makes learning Japanese so much easier, I’ve gotten sucked back in hard. Also the esoteric themes mean I never get tired of analyzing them.

7
I just finished playing Xenoblade Chronicles and it brings up thoughts of the current state of humanity. The people who hare humanity because of how they’ve been hurt but only say they want to save humanity by reducing the population or imposing lots of control or turning us into cyborgs.

I even notice this force in my writing today. A focus on the unwanted will only bring about more unwanted. Fighting against something only makesnit stronger or allows the thing you hate to influence you in ways that make you resemble it more. The only way to overcome anything and not become what you hate is to keep your eye on what you love and do everything in support of that, not against what you don’t like.

8
For me this means having fun anywhere and everywhere without regard for social rules and NOT AGAINST social rules. By that I mean I can break rules but I will not try to break them, and I will be sensitive enough to try not force anyone to accept my behavior. No expecting others to dance with me, but I am still goong to dance.

9
I’m really glad i deleted that post. I find myself getting stuck focusing on what I don’t like but I really should be focusing on how to promote what I do like. I can start by showing more people the local shops that I love and behaving the way I want people yo behave.

10
On sunday I taked to a new shopowner aboit how hard it was to find customers and he was getting pretty depressed. I introduced him to a flea market that he could sell his food. He and his wife had a sudden change of attitude and were instantly energized.

A week earlier I took a student of mine and prospective student to a local book store and cafe and told them al I know about the area because they both expressed feeling alienated. I even introduced them to a few people we met on the street.

I can’t say if the flea market will help the shop or if my tour helped the two students but this is what I can do to support the things I love and support people around me.

11
Funnily enough I was very energized myself both days by doing that. At first I was hesitant to change my plans for the say hut in the end I was happy I did. This kind of thing cancgive life meaning. Not al attempts will be success but some will and you will find yourself building the community without even realizing it. I can think of 3 people who made this their home because I introduced them and two couples I accidentally introduced 🤣

We all have an impact on the world whether we want to or not so might as well make it a fun one.

I am not sure how coherent or incoherent this is but it is what it is! ❤️

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency